Despite receiving a leading eight nominations from the Online Film Critics Society, Quentin Tarantino's Inglourious Basterds ended up losing their top prize to Kathryn Bigelow and The Hurt Locker. The acclaimed Iraq war thriller took top honors for Picture, Bigelow for Director and, again, Jeremy Renner for Actor, matching the recently announced choices from the National Society of Film Critics. Basterds hardly walked away empty-handed, tying Hurt Locker's four victories from the 143-member group with awards for Supporting Actor (Christoph Waltz), Original Screenplay for Tarantino, Cinematography for Robert Richardson and Mélanie Laurent for Best Lead Actress. Laurent also won the award from the Austin Film Critics but was relegated into the Supporting category by Detroit and St. Louis where she was only nominated.

The statistics for the OFCS are not going to figure as much in the long run as some other groups might. The numbers that do stand out though are the ones that the OFCS helped put over the top. Throughout this awards season over 20 groups have announced their winners of the season. As of this writing, the OFCS has put The Hurt Locker into the lead with the most victories to date for Best Film of 2009. Their award makes number 10 for Bigelow & Co., just ahead of Jason Reitman's Up In The Air which has won 9. Well-trailing the pack in third place is Inglourious Basterds with 3. Rounding out the Top Five are Pixar's Up with 2 victories and a sole victory for Avatarcoming from the other online group, the New York Film Critics Online.