The award nominations announcements seem to be coming hourly, don't they?

The next round of nominations are from the Writer's Guild, and the Producer's Guild. Guess who's got the noms?

Not surprisingly, Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman got a nod from the Writer's Guild for Star Trek as Best Adapted screenplay. I do not get how James Cameron and his Avatar script get a nod for Best Original Screenplay. Seriously, folks? Best? Original?


Lost's writers were nominated for Best Written Drama Series (or more precisely, Carlton Cuse, Adam Horowitz, Melinda Hsu Taylor, Edward Kitsis, Damon Lindelof, Greggory Nations, Kyle Pennington, Elizabeth Sarnoff, Brian K. Vaughan, Paul Zbyszewski were nominated).

True Blood's "I Will Rise Up" episode, written by Nancy Oliver, is up for the Best Episodic Drama - Any Length - One Airing Time award. That's the post-explosion episode, also the one where Hoyt introduces Jessica to his mother.

Not to be left out, the Producer's Guild announced more noms for its 21st award ceremony, including the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures. Producer's like their titles, eh? Avatar's James Cameron and Jon Landau are nominated, as well as District 9's Carolynne Cunningham and Peter Jackson, Star Trek's J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof and Up's Jonas Rivera.

PGA Producer of the Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures could be going to Jonas Rivera for Up, or the as yet to get final credit determination producers of9.

Last year the Producer's Guild announced Joss Whedon was receiving the Vanguard Award, and Disney/Pixar's John Lasseter was getting the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures award.

The WGA awards aren't until February 20th, but the PGA awards are announced on January 24th. Guess producers like to make their decisions quickly.

categories Movies, Sci-Fi