History was made on Saturday night when Kathryn Bigelow became the first female director to win Best Direction in a Feature Film from the Directors' Guild of America. While not an upset or out-of-nowhere win -- every awards follower and pundit wondered about The Hurt Locker and Bigelow's chances -- it's a stunning victory, and one that has every eye looking towards the Oscars.

Bigelow will, most definitely, receive an Oscar nomination tomorrow morning, and she has a really good shot of taking home the Academy's top honor as well. In the last 61 years, over 90% of the DGA winners went on to receive that gold statue, the only upsets being Anthony Harvey in 1968, Francis Ford Coppola in 1972, Steven Spielberg in 1985, Ron Howard in 1995, Ang Lee in 2000, and Rob Marshall in 2002.

It's so close, but yet so far -- an almost-sure course to the Oscars, but one that could still go either way. So close, but so far ... really, that's been the theme of this year's awards circuit, especially when it comes to Bigelow and The Hurt Locker. The DGA Award is, at once, both a wonderful achievement and an emblem of how far we have to go.
categories Awards, Cinematical