The 25th Independent Spirit Awards were held in Los Angeles last night, and our friends at indieWIRE were there to celebrate the big night for the little guys. They covered the ceremony minute by minute, so whether you missed the broadcast of the awards on IFC or just want some excellent first-hand commentary from independent film experts, check out the complete live-blogged report here.

The big story of the evening was that Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire swept the major categories and won every award it was nominated for, including Best Feature, Best Director (Lee Daniels), Best First Screenplay (Geoffrey Fletcher), Best Supporting Actress (Mo'Nique) and Best Actress (Gabourey Sidibe). Sidibe made me smile when she cited Welcome to the Dollhouseas a major influence on her decision to pursue acting. As for Daniels, he somewhat acknowledged that he didn't have to compete with Oscar favorite Kathryn Bigelow, as The Hurt Lockerwas a nominee at lastyear's Spirit Awards (though not for Best Director).