The Director's Guild of America (DGA) has announced their pick of the year, and he is ... Tom Hooper of 'The King's Speech.' As Deadline wisely notes, only six times in history has the DGA winner not won the Academy Award for Best Director. Congratulations to Mr. Hooper and the 'Speech' team; they're picking up steam at precisely the right time.

Other DGA winners include Charles Ferguson for the documentary 'Inside Job,' Mick Jackson for the HBO mini-series 'Temple Grandin,' and (of course) the great Martin Scorsese for his work on the inaugural episode of 'Boardwalk Empire.' Check out the full list of winners (including some TV stuff) at the DGA website, but that's pretty much it, movie-news-wise.