Screenwriter Jamie Moss is appealing the Writer's Guild of America's decision to award credit for the 'X-Men: First Class' screenplay to Ashley Miller, Zack Stentz, Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn and story credit to Sheldon Turner and Bryan Singer, director of the first two 'X-Men' films. On Tuesday, following a complicated credit arbitration process, the WGA decided not to provide Moss or writer Josh Schwartz with credit on 'X-Men: First Class' despite the fact that they were the first two writers assigned to the film.

The story and final screenplay for 'X-Men: First Class' came together in a very complicated way, according to The Hollywood Reporter, making the crediting process particularly difficult. The WGA was essentially tasked with discerning who did what for the film, which hits theaters on June 3.

The script for the latest installment in the 'X-Men' franchise appears to have been cobbled together from related projects, including a proposed stand-alone Magneto-origin film, as well as original work by two different teams of writers.
categories Movies