Well, it's about damn time.

See, when the Academy Awards first aired back in 1927, there were 10 Best Picture nominees. Then in 1944, the Academy decided to lower that to five, and everyone was happy about it until someone had the bright idea in 2009 to change it back to 10. Since that time, pity nominations for 'The Blind Side' and 'District 9' have been doled out en masse regardless of the fact that, no matter how good they were, none of them had a snowflake's chance in hell of winning. No one really knew why the change was made and none of us were very happy about it since it only diminished the honor that came with earning a Best Picture nod, but it seems like someone in charge finally got on the bandwagon.

After voting on June 14, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences came to a decision that the Best Picture nominees will no longer be set at a mandatory (and arbitrary) 10, but will now be made up of anywhere from five to 10 movies. After studying the numbers, they also came to the conclusion that in order for a movie to receive a Best Picture nomination, it must receive at least 5 percent of the top vote from Academy voters. But whatever the science behind it, those Academy bigwigs should give themselves a pat on the back for this one.

Hit the jump to see what Bruce Davis (retiring executive director of the Academy) had to say about the change.
Toy Story 3 Movie Poster
Toy Story 3
Based on 39 critics

With their beloved Andy preparing to leave for college, Woody (Tom Hanks), Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen),... Read More

The Blind Side Movie Poster
The Blind Side
Based on 29 critics

Michael Oher (Quinton Aaron), a homeless black teen, has drifted in and out of the school system for... Read More