Disney announced today that principle photography has commenced on "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," which is scheduled for release on April 4th, 2014. In addition to Cap himself (Chris Evans), and new cast member Robert Redford (as a S.H.I.E.L.D. bigwig), it is now confirmed that Samuel L. Jackson will return as Nick Fury along with -- somewhat more surprisingly -- Scarlett Johansson as the Black Widow.

The storyline for the sequel, written by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely and directed by Anthony and Joe Russo, will feature Cap teaming up with the Black Widow to stop the evil scheme of the Winter Soldier aka Captain America's former partner Bucky (Sebastian Stan). Also along for the ride are superhero Falcon (Anthony Mackie), marking the character's screen debut, and recurrent Marvel universe characters including S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Marina Hill (Cobie Smulders, back from "Avengers"), Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell) and Armin Zola (Toby Jones).

Shooting will take place in Los Angeles, California (where production began today), as well as Cleveland, Ohio, and Washington, D.C. You can check out the first still from the movie, courtesy of Disney, below.

[Click to zoom]captain america the winter soldier
Captain America: The Winter Soldier Movie Poster
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Based on 47 critics

After the cataclysmic events in New York with his fellow Avengers, Steve Rogers, aka Captain America... Read More

categories Movies