producers guild awards nominationsSony

Awards season continued its march into the new year Thursday with the announcement of nominees for the Producers Guild Awards.

The PGAs, handed out by the Producers Guild of America, cited 10 films that will vie for the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award. They are:

"American Hustle"
Producers: Megan Ellison, Jon Gordon, Charles Roven, Richard Suckle

"Blue Jasmine"
Producers: Letty Aronson, Stephen Tenenbaum

"Captain Phillips"
Producers: Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca, Scott Rudin

"Dallas Buyers Club"
Producers: Robbie Brenner, Rachel Winter

Producers: Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman

Producers: Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze, Vincent Landay

Producers: Albert Berger, Ron Yerxa

"Saving Mr. Banks"
Producers: Ian Collie, Alison Owen, Philip Steuer

"12 Years a Slave"
Producers: Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner

"Wolf of Wall Street"
Producers: Riza Aziz, Emma Koskoff, Joey McFarland

The PGAs -- which also honor animated films, documentaries, television series and movies, and digital series -- have long been considered one of the most accurate predictors of Academy Award nominations. Eight of the 10 films cited by the body last year went on to score Best Picture nominations, and the last six winners of the PGA top prize have also won Best Picture.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on January 19.

[via: Producers Guild of America, h/t HuffPost Entertainment]
categories Movies, Awards