Skip to main content

reviews

25
Based on 12 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 59 )
  • NA
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Memo to Beyoncé Knowles: You were so good as Etta James in "Cadillac Records," so why'd you go spoil everything with a rank cheeseball thriller that buries you in clichés and won't even help you dig yourself out? show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Unfortunately, the whole movie seems constructed just to get the singer/actress into a knock-down catfight, shoehorning one of show business's sexiest entertainers into a scorned-woman role. And even then, the pay-off feels cheap. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Every move is telegraphed well in advance thanks to desultory writing, routine direction and ample musical cues. show more

  • 25
    TV Guide

    Larter just doesn't have the same bite as the bunny-killing stalkers of years gone by. show more

  • 40
    Marjorie Baumgarten Austin Chronicle

    The film may seem a bit undercooked until it gets to the staging of the ultimate battle, but Obsessed is swinging from the chandeliers by the end. show more

  • 50
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    Obsessed has little plausibility, but at moments it's an entertaining bad movie, and the performers are vivid. show more

  • 50
    L.A. Weekly

    Isn't half as dramatic as what probably went down after she (Beyoncé Knowles) kicked LaTavia and LaToya out of Destiny's Child. show more

  • 50
    Los Angeles Times

    The singer-actress' saucy, glamorously wry performance makes up for some of the film's inherent predictability. show more

  • 50
    Variety

    Don't expect a pot full of boiling bunnies, because nothing so creatively crazy ever happens in Obsessed, a "Fatal Attraction"-inspired predatory-female domestic thriller that spends much time spinning its wheels and making auds practically beg for an explanation to all the madness and obsession. show more

  • 40
    Stephanie Zacharek Salon.com

    Takes far too long to get cooking, and it works so hard at NOT being exploitation that it loses sight of its reasons for existing in the first place. show more

  • September 06, 2009 Jeri-Anne
    Report This User

    OMG It was STUPID! Beyonde can't act, the plot was unbelieveabe, but there were some (unintentional) laughs at the end, 20 minutes of ************* each other with BATS, and yet no injurines-what a waste of money.

  • August 17, 2009 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    Wasn't that great but it wasn't bad. It's worth renting once. Just another psycho movie. It's fun watching them fight in the end and it will make you laugh a couple of times.

  • June 22, 2009 Nich2523
    Report This User

    i for one dont care what anyone says i absolutly love ali larter i didnt like the fact beyonce was in it i dont care for her at all...ali did a great job she is the reason i stayed entertained...if it wasnt for ali pulling off the roll i would of *********** it... thanks ali i think you save this movie...im rating ali's performance not beyonce...ali larter fan...nich

  • June 12, 2009 Jefferson Ridgew
    Report This User

    The best part of the movie was when beyonce fought ali larter at the end. The storyline is really simple. idris elba is hired a temp worker who starts to flirt with him and ends up being (as the title says) obsessed with him even through ali larter(temp) already knows that he is married and she will do anything to have elba hers.

  • May 28, 2009 dnsack1
    Report This User

    I went from X-men to Obsessed. Yes predictable, Yes just good acting and not great BUT i liked it better than x-men. Beyonce did a good job as well as Ali larter. My take. It was very enteraining and woth seeing.

  • May 22, 2009 jussjessjess
    Report This User

    this movie was just ok. beyonce wasnt as bad as people said she is, but this is definitely on the middle to lower end of the "obsessed spouse/girl/boyfriend" movie spectrum. i think "enough" with jlo was much better than this one. that tina turner movie too with angela bassett.

  • May 20, 2009 Kjg1972
    Report This User

    Silly and cheesy. Don't expect too much out of it and you will be entertained by the sheer stupidity of the plot and the awful acting.

  • May 17, 2009 LT2HARD
    Report This User

    I agree this was definitely a made for TV movie. It was not the worst, but definitely wasn't the best. Beyonce just was not believable in the character. The fight in the attic was ridiculous. Come on she is fighting in some mega high heeled boots with no weapon which is probably why she got her ass kicked.

  • May 14, 2009 CMURPHYFI
    Report This User

    In reference to an earlier review; there are some predictable scenes, but that didn't minimize the overall greatness of the movie. The movie should remind us that there are still a perpetual string of crazies in the world who deliberately misinterprets things others may say or do.(ONLY TO SATISFY THEIR SCREWED-UP MINDS)

  • May 12, 2009 Cheergirl0297
    Report This User

    why is evryone only outting negative comments on here? on ALL of the movies!?

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X