Skip to main content

reviews

32
Based on 15 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 12
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Misery is enduring this Rocky Horror Paris Show. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The biggest mystery about Repo! The Genetic Opera is why the grisly Goth-horror musical is opening the week after Halloween. The second-biggest mystery is why this unfunny, unscary, preposterous bloodbath about organ transplants is opening at all. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Check out the trailer before you commit to this one; if it's for you, you'll know instantly. And if it's not, you'll know that, too. show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    This would-be cult film is unlikely to inspire "Rocky Horror"-style devotion. show more

  • 50
    Premiere

    While Repo! is obviously no "Zauberflöte," it does offer up spectacle on an operatic scale. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    There probably aren't enough futuristic Goth rock musicals, but Repo! The Genetic Opera is weak on a couple of things a musical needs: music and lyrics. show more

  • 50
    Film Threat

    Only time will tell whether REPO! can live up to its cult potential, but the potential is most definitely there. show more

  • 50
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    It's not often you come across a film as unique as this, and while my taste for liver, lights, and sweetbreads isn't what it once was, this is still a fine post-Halloween aperitif, with guts to spare. show more

  • 33
    Entertainment Weekly

    If steampunk bloodbaths aren't for you, it's a long wait for the fat lady to sing. show more

  • 40
    Nathan Lee The New York Times

    Feels destined to please a campy coterie of fans and no one else. show more

  • February 03, 2012 bignsexy1982
    Report This User

    i love this movie it is so good love the songs in it

  • August 13, 2010 LenazHelena
    Report This User

    This is my favorite movie ever!!!

  • February 14, 2009 personal whammy
    Report This User

    This movie was amazing, for lack of a better word. I'd gotten very hyped about it over the summer, and counted down until the theater release date, unforunately my city didn't want it to play here. I waited two months and borrowed it from a friend, it was more than I'd hoped for. Don't let the fact that Paris Hilton is in it make you not want to watch, with her ever-changing appearance you can barely tell it's her! This movie has actors with great musical talents. I highly reccomend this film to those who love Rocky Horror and the SAW films just as much as I do.

  • January 27, 2009 Half halo life22
    Report This User

    very interesting, very tim burtonish, very gothic, and very weird.....that just about sums up what kind of movies i like

  • January 27, 2009 opus10
    Report This User

    Amazing movie, to say the least!!

  • January 25, 2009 ShiaTheDemon
    Report This User

    Absolutely loved it. When I was first watching the beginning I was expecting a lot so felt a little dissapointed but by the second watch I was in love. I was also skeptical about Paris but I can honestly say she did a great job all around. (Seeing as she was king of playing herself.. spioled brat with a rich daddy?) Of course Sarah Brightman's performance was goregeous

  • November 17, 2008 Pinkbunnieink
    Report This User

    Its a have to see Movie!!!! The cast is so passionate about it you cant help but fall in love with the movie, listening to them talk about it.

  • November 13, 2008 Emma6underground
    Report This User

    I thought it was quite alright. It's definitely a fun and very visually pleasing film. It's not perfect, but it's most certainly not bad at all. The songs are great. The cast is awesome. Paris wasn't awful, in fact, her character was one of my favorites to follow through the film. Its definitely one i'll be buying for my dvd collection!

  • November 10, 2008 Kellie
    Report This User

    This movie is a one of a kind movie that cinema needs to revitalize movie making. The music was awesome the gore was pretty gory, the story line was original, and hearing Graverobber and Blind Mag sing was a delight to my ears. This movie takes you completely away from the rest of the world while you're watching it. There are so many facets to it, you never know what to expect from one scene to the next. I came away from this movie very happy and listening to the soundtrack lets me replay the music in my mind until it gets a wider releas and I can see it again and/or it comes to dvd. I can't wait to see it again!

  • November 08, 2008 Jaguarxii
    Report This User

    lies

`

similar movies

  • Cannibal! The Musical (1993)

  • The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)

  • Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2001)

  • Little Shop of Horrors (1986)

  • Inside Llewyn Davis (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X