Skip to main content

reviews

44
Based on 23 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 66 )
  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    The two best things about this logic-challenged, predictable and overlong (110 minutes!) film are The Rock's performance - surely he's one of the more likable people in the movies, and here he handles physical sight gags with aplomb; and the parallel disciplines of football and ballet, which provide a way for father and daughter to understand each other. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Game Plan plays like an average sitcom that drags on. This sort of film shouldn't clock in at more than 90 minutes. There are worse ways to spend a few hours, but expect more predictability than laughs in this good-hearted, mindless entertainment. show more

  • 38
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Director Andy Fickman seems to have thrown everything into this artificial comedy, in the hopes that something might stick. Almost nothing does. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A throwback to the days when Disney would recruit second- and third-tier stars to stroll through indifferently written, modestly produced comic fluff that served as family entertainment. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    It's painless, especially if you have a small child in tow, and the Rock, bless his heart, acts like it's all new to him. The star should do more comedy - he's got quick reflexes and a face that lends itself to cartoon double takes, and he's not afraid to look completely ridiculous. show more

  • 50
    Chicago Tribune

    If Steve Martin (“Cheaper by the Dozen”) and Eddie Murphy (“Daddy Day Care”) can’t make these PG-rated assembly-line comedies any fun, what chance does The Rock have? show more

  • 50
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    At least The Game Plan does have Johnson, whose innate charisma will make it easier for adult viewers to endure the film without ruing the decision to make a family outing to the multiplex. show more

  • 50
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    All that charm is wasted in careless scenes that don't make much sense and the whole thing feels slapped to together with chewing gum and spit. show more

  • 38
    Jennie Punter The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The Game Plan, created as a vehicle for Johnson, is a family comedy heavy on syrup and low on laughs. show more

  • 25
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Apart from a heart-tugging plot twist, some lesson learning and more random football talk ("no more buttonhooks in the kitchen"), that's about it. Oh, except for the scene in which Kyra Sedgwick - who plays Joe's agent - farts. Be sure to update your résumé, Kyra. show more

  • February 12, 2012 qo00000000100323
    Report This User

    We loved this movie really cute family movie.It reminded of the old Darkwing Duck cartoons from when I kid.4 stars all the way. Must see

  • November 21, 2010 mirandaEidson
    Report This User

    I LOVED the part when THE ROCK ate the cookies and he couldn't talk right

  • September 27, 2009 Rean Rossier
    Report This User

    This movie was great I loved it!!!!! it was really a sweet little movie that I found funny, there was a great plot & a huge CAST! this movie made me laugh, cry, & smile " & GREAT MOVIE"

  • May 22, 2008 shopsand1
    Report This User

    Watched it last night with the kids and husband.WE ALL LOVED IT! FUNNY, FUNNY FUNNY. Finally a movie we could watch with our kids. Watch it.

  • May 22, 2008 tdbthree3
    Report This User

    If I were this business owner I would be embarrassed because all of his reviews are about, sex, women, kids and cheating. I actually come on the internet just to read his reviews. It is like a soap opera , I LOVE IT! Almost makes me want to give him a try. JUST KIDDING!

  • May 22, 2008 oobie3
    Report This User

    One of the most intriguing movies - corruption all aroundkept my interest in every sceneDidn't want it to end - BUT, the end was great!Went straight home and called all my friends to tell them to GO!

  • May 22, 2008 daniel601
    Report This User

    the movie was the best in the world

  • May 22, 2008 mandypanda23
    Report This User

    Set in the eerie, furtive realm of cult followers to a bewitching music score by Kays Alatrakchi, "Believers" is, in true Myrick style, a masterfully crafted thriller, reliant on an atmosphere of psychological menace and suspense, as opposed to the ubiquitious gore of most contemporary film.Through the terrifying ordeals of 2 paramedics kidnapped by the Quanta Group, lead by the Teacher, issues of destiny and its attainment, introspection, religion versus science, power of suggestion and gullibility are highlighted, enabling the viewer to evaluate and ponder what might be.Most natable, is the riveting performance by Daniel Benzali, who, as the Teacher, is at his insidious, evil best. His spellbinding, measured, haunting tone of voice crystallizes the mood of the whole film, making him, without doubt, the "master of creepy".Brilliantly counterbalanced to his character, is that of young Libby, whose mind, like all the others, is anaesthetized by the miasma of unconditional trust, innocently mislpaced in that false sense of security of blind faith, so intrinsic to cult rationale. Believe it! "Believers" is a must-see.( Margaret Walsh.Sydney, Australia.)

  • May 22, 2008 mariatuza
    Report This User

    Very Good!!!

  • May 22, 2008 nowandl4mv2krm
    Report This User

    One of the best FAMILY movie I have seen in years. I laughed and cried throughout the whole movie. If you want to watch something that is not full of sex and cursing, this is for you. We need to get back to the root of our success in America, Jesus (The Saviour and Lord). PS I have seen the move 2 times and the theaters were full even after 4 weeks. America is starving for decent movies.

`

similar movies

  • Old Dogs (2009)

  • Daddy Day Care (2003)

  • Imagine That (2009)

  • Mr. Popper's Penguins (2011)

  • Are We There Yet? (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X