Skip to main content

reviews

46
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 12 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    There's something painful about watching Scarlett Johansson, who looks as if she never had an indecisive moment in her life, struggle to seem ineffectual. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The very rich are different from you and me. And much worse. That's basically the message of the disappointingly banal Nanny Diaries, a film that is even more lightweight and clichéd than the fluff that was the best-selling book. show more

  • 30
    Wall Street Journal

    So tightly constructed of clichés, stereotypes and chick-lit tropes that it's inert; no fresh air can blow in. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Satire should be knife-sharp and whip-smart, and The Nanny Diaries never is. show more

  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Despite some clever early fantasy scenes, Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini's adaptation of best seller The Nanny Diaries won't make Bridget Jones give up her writing. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The comedy has several inspired moments and a genuine flair for the satiric, but overall the film leaves you cold. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    A late-summer delight, a sleek, handsomely made bauble buoyed by a cast much stronger than the flimsy material deserves. show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Berman and Pulcini, who turned Harvey Pekar's graphic memoir into the visually inventive, Oscar-nominated "American Splendor," dress this film as an anthropological field diary and add several fabulous touches. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie itself is sort of bland and obvious and comfortable. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Weak dramatically, and that limits its overall effectiveness. show more

  • May 22, 2008 kaseyjack
    Report This User

    Laura Linney is a scene stealer by far in this movie she knows what she is doing and goes for it over all the cast was pretty good with Scarlett Johanson as a likable colllege graduate but give a mildly weak performance. Over All I thimk this movie was very good.

  • May 22, 2008 wjfengkim
    Report This User

    Thank goodness that films this beautiful are still being made. In a culture where I sometimes wonder how stuff gets filmed. The story and the characters did capture the Jane Austin flair on a big screen. It is a lovingly acted and warm love story that will make you thankful you chose it. A MUST SEE

  • May 22, 2008 kusab
    Report This User

    I'm well into my 80's and male to boot so who am I to write so lovingly of this (comedy?) film. I saw it yesterday and couldn't help applauding openly at its **********'s a film I could watch on occasion and with ongoing interest to the end of the time yet allotted me.A liberal arts student graduates college, having majored in anthropology, and arrives in New York City, looking for a job which turns out to becoming a nanny for a youngster within a rich and self-contained family of wife/mother, husband/father with not much time for herself at all. What transpires is change for our heroine, for the wife/mother and, indeed, for the child in need of the loving touch. The husband, businessman Mr. Giambetti, is a sideline that is allowed to be his crude self throughout. A boyfriiend becomes part of our star's world but only a part. The young lady becomes of age and maturity as time progresses. I suppose we could call this a "woman's" movie. To me, the film is a keyhole scene on all of us who are too busy being busy, busy-ness that fills time but leaves us adding nothing of what we folks need more of. You film goers must see this movie and decide for yourself if it's a comedy as described, or another connection for all of us as we mingle and tingle in the world of make-believe, made believable here of what's out there as we 'knock at any door'. Morris

  • May 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    I wonder what people expect from a story of this kind? Too much, I'd guess. In it's favor: It's a contemporary story with a satiric comedy twist. It's well structured, easy to follow. The acting is better than average, including the young boy. The heroine has enough emotional capacity to be real and to relate to the audience. Against: If you don't care for romantic comedy/drama with some social commentary, you're not going to like this movie so....pick something else.

  • May 22, 2008 emigirl414
    Report This User

    On Rumford Island, Banks, U.S.P.S, Police/Fire, Court House, Pharmacy, Local shops, Resturants, All in walking distance.

  • May 22, 2008 dolphin4me2000
    Report This User

    i drive 45 minutes just to eat here and i live in a town/city with well over a hundred restaurants. slippery chicken/shrimp (ask for it spicy), general ching's shrimp, and the moo shoo pork are my favorites. and for anyone who has a problem with the unkempt atmosphere, what you see is what you get, but what you dont see wont kill you either. ive worked in restaurants, and you have no idea what goes on. all humans are slobs. next time wipe the toilet seat after you pee all over it, or not.... and pf changs is corporate crap pre-packaged and microwaved to order. i bet that person also thinks tgi fridays is a real restaurant too....

  • May 22, 2008 clarinettia1
    Report This User

    This movie is an abomination! It is hands down the worst screenplay ever written! Rob Zombie should not be allowed anywhere near a camera! Or a computer keyboard! Yes, folks, it's that bad! It just goes to show that Hollywood will put out any piece of crap so long as they can attatch a famous name to it. Stay home and rent the original. Rob Zombie should stick to making music.

  • May 22, 2008 DOLORES
    Report This User

    regardless of what theses reviews said we went and thought it was gr8! Scarlett is too cute and it was a happy ending!

  • May 22, 2008 dcaisgwm
    Report This User

    It wasn't that good....slow start...the nanny cam had so much more potential but came up short...Laura Linney was great and yes the Harvard Hottie is hot and the dog was cute..but it should of been so much more.....3 people even left in the middle...

  • May 22, 2008 The Woodsons
    Report This User

    Took 16 year old Granddaughter and we both were yawning before it was over.Needed more humor.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X