Skip to main content

reviews

33
Based on 19 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Dragons may have seemed less out of place three decades ago, but it would have been a bad movie then as well. It's filled with clumsy transitions and erratic performances, and tied together by an awkward framing device. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    History can be an equalizer, so director Roland Joffe ("The Killing Fields," "The Mission") makes sure saints and sinners all get painted with the same uninteresting brush in this fact-based drama. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    British writer-director Roland Joffé dips a toe into explosive material - the Spanish Civil War, betrayal, sainthood, Opus Dei - but all these big themes and characters slip from his grasp. show more

  • 55
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Because his character is never clear, Manolo's choices lack emotional interest and narrative urgency. show more

  • 50
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    This may be the most politically confusing movie about that conflict since "For Whom the Bell Tolls" -- I couldn't for the life of me figure out where Escriva stood. show more

  • 50
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    There Be Dragons is tethered to the earth by a tangled plot, wooden acting and the heavy burden of healing old wounds. show more

  • 38
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    There Be Dragons is like fine wine, served in a Big Gulp cup. A little is very nice. A lot is way too much. show more

  • 38
    Mark Feeney Boston Globe

    In fairness, putting holiness onscreen is an enormous challenge. It can be done, as several directors have shown, most notably Dreyer and Bresson. Bad enough that Joffe is the poor man's Lean. He's also the nonbelieving man's Dreyer and Bresson. show more

  • 40
    Joshua Rothkopf Time Out New York

    Controversially, Escrivá started the Opus Dei, and There Be Dragons is best appreciated by those seeking more realism than the albino self-whipper of "The Da Vinci Code." show more

  • 20
    Boxoffice Magazine

    From its baldly overwritten dialogue to its claustrophobically stingy use of locations, Dragons is underdone in every way. show more

  • February 01, 2012 yq00000000111206
    Report This User

    A bit slow, but well acted - really focused on a specific audience.

  • May 29, 2011 lp00000000091354
    Report This User

    This movie has so many layers it reminds me of another age... like back when we had real films? When you see a story that has the kind of depth and beauty this film has, there\'s something for everyone. For me it was the powerful message of a willful father who was unable to communicate with his own son. But the story will speak to anyone who is not afraid to face the pitfalls of life and who understands it our decisions that make us who, and what, we are.

  • May 29, 2011 ks00000000091264
    Report This User

    I love this film! OMG! It is really wonderful and made me think about all the difficult but amazing choices we are faced with in this life. I can\'t say enough it moved me that deeply. What I just don\'t get is why these (stupid) critics hate any movies that make the audiences think, like because they can\'t think or what? And I am not of any religion and I didn\'t think this was about that at all compared to who we are. My boyfriend liked it too (got off on the war stuff more) but I will buy the DVD for my collection. What a beautiful experience. Thanks.

  • May 13, 2011 ggperio
    Report This User

    skip it

  • May 11, 2011 bx00000000090104
    Report This User

    I was not expecting much from this movie but after seeing it I was pleasantly surprised. It was a great film with great acting. I thought it was wonderful and am surprised by the critics negative reviews. I highly recommend this film.

  • May 08, 2011 ciluffome
    Report This User

    Riveting and captivating, Roffe captures the timelss human emotions of love, envy, betrayal and redemption spun around the character of Jose Maria, founder of Opes Dei and set against the kaos of the Spanish Cival War. I don\'t know what movie the critics watched or what movie they thought they were going to see, Batman - 5 or Transformers it is not. There are no chase scenes thru downtown LA or hollywood bank heists in this movie. It is a reflective piece pitting raw human emotion against spirituality .

  • May 08, 2011 gjryan5
    Report This User

    Sometimes when I read critics\' comments which differ 180-degrees from my own, I wonder if we even saw the same movie! I found \"There Be Dragons\" to be moving on many levels (I did find the characters believable and well-rounded and I did appreciate the message of love and forgiveness). I also thought that it was cinematically gorgeous (even the horrible Civil War scenes were \"beautiful\") and the music/soundtrack absolutely outstanding. The editing (called disjointed by one critic) I thought was brilliant and seamless. I even liked the fictional frame story (flashback) convention created to envleop this based-on-truth narrative. Oh, well. I\'m awfully glad I follow my gut instincts and not the advice of so-called experts! Otherwise, i would have missed what will probably become one of my favorite movies of the year.

  • May 08, 2011 agatstone
    Report This User

    Excellent film; full of love of humanity.

  • May 07, 2011 cc00000000090385
    Report This User

    The story, characters and images continue to comeback to me. It has left me thinking about my life, relationships, Love, my beliefs, my work, etc. There are so many layers to this movie... It\'s not a movie for the superficial or those who just want to be entertained over popcorn and then move on to their next thriller. It\'s a deep movie that engages the mind and heart, hopefully engaging the viewer to think of the morally pivotal moments in life and the choices made. I think there is a little bit of a Manolo in each of our lives... something each one of us needs to come to terns with. Hopefully, as with Manolo, there is a Josemaria in each of our paths. I highly recommend this movie! It\'s a movie you can\'t just see once! I look forward to watching it on the big screen.

  • May 04, 2011 cctcurtis
    Report This User

    review

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X