Skip to main content

reviews

78
Based on 40 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 54 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Unique and unmissable. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Never takes off, but it never collapses. At times, it becomes frustrating -- for example, about 30 minutes are spent pursuing a lead that goes nowhere. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This is the rare movie that blends long scenes of meticulous research with a sweeping story and sustains a feeling of riveting suspense. Zodiac grips you by the throat and doesn't let go. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The film feels self-obsessed, an intriguing drama that slowly devolves into a bleak meditation on the absence of dramatics. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Zodiac is a reproach both to those dedicated to unscrambling "The Da Vinci Code" and to those hooked on forensic crime shows where all the evidence leads to a tidy conclusion. That Zodiac's manhunt is inconclusive makes it all the more haunting. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Without a persuasive ending, Zodiac is an exercise in frustration if not futility. But before it hits the inevitable wall, it does something better than most genre films even attempt: it perfectly depicts the obsession that often overtakes cops and reporters involved in high-profile crimes. show more

  • 90
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Firing on all cylinders as a creepy thriller, police procedural and "All the President's Men"-style investigative newsroom drama, the smart, extremely vivid production oozes period authenticity. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Its most impressive accomplishment is to gather a bewildering labyrinth of facts and suspicions over a period of years, and make the journey through this maze frightening and suspenseful. show more

  • 100
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    Fincher gets it all right, and Donovan's hippie-dippy "Hurdy Gurdy Man," which bookends the story, has never sounded so hauntingly menacing. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    It's fascinating and unexpected both in its simple, looming images and its storytelling priorities, which may not intersect with the priorities of audiences who couldn't get enough of "Se7en." show more

  • September 02, 2008 ironmanx0404
    Report This User

    this movie is smart and funny at parts. very good

  • May 22, 2008 shhcrystal
    Report This User

    I do not understand why people are downplaying this movie. I thought it was extremly good, yes long but good. The acting alone was astounding and the story was better than some silly, predictable romance that the public keeps watching. All in all in my opinon very good eye opener but not a movie you want to sit down with the family and have a quick easy movie to watch, period.

  • May 22, 2008 earlelizabeth
    Report This User

    This was the most BORING movie I have ever seen. Knowing history, I knew going in they would not find a killer. But to sit there and watch somebody's obsession to find the killer, for over two hours, was truly mind numbing. Saying that, The only reason critcs give such a high rating "these days" to a movie like that is because of the calaber of actors involved. They are legends in their own minds....

  • May 22, 2008 bt1271
    Report This User

    This was a long, confusing movie. You will leave the theater, not knowing what the film was about. You will leave unsatisfied. I was very excited going in to this blockbuster. I was very disappointed coming out.

  • May 22, 2008 ejb4501
    Report This User

    This was "3 DOSER" on the "DOSE RATING SYSTEM" as I dozed off 3 times. I remember how Zodiac gripped California. HOW DO YOU SCREW UP THE EMOST SENSATIONAL SERIAL MURDER STORY IN CALIFORNIA HISTORY!?! Film NEVER captures the "feel" of the time. The murders never capture the full horror of the moment. Jake G. is surface all the way. Downing, for the most part, does his "Downing thing", i.e., hyper quirky, and the performance feels gimmicky and seems to serve a comic relief function save for his last few scenes, which feel way more meaty. The cops - Edwards, Ruffalo, Koteas- Do all give very good, believable perfomances. But the filmmakers choose formulaic approaches to situations that could have used a different tact, and what rolls out is boringly predictable. A thoroughly forgettable film, I was HUGELY disappointed. The filmmakers absolutely failed in their obligation to reduce the book down to the best screen telling of the story. For nearly 3 hours, it felt like insult after insult added to injury. At a paltry 32 million worldwide gross one month after release, it looks like the audiences agree. And considering the studio plunked down 65 mil in production costs, I think they are inclined to as well.

  • May 22, 2008 talik53
    Report This User

    The movie was very well acted and generally well cast except for Chloe Sivegney as the wife. She's wasted in that part. Technically it was as close as you get to perfect. The problem is it lacked soul and passion. There was so much information that you sort of lost interest and figured you'd make the connection later on. You didn't realy care about the characters. The Paul Avery or Amory character was totally unpleasant. Robert Downey Jr. looks like a high maintenence flake in real life but he can act. In this character, however, I got the impression that he was being directed to play it in that obnoxious manner. He was too cute and forced and over-the-top. There were one or two moments of suspense but sitting through the tedium is too high a price to pay for a few moments of suspense. Despite all the investigation and blah-blah-blah there were no "Aha!" moments. Still, I'd recommend it. It was fun to see the 60s and 70s clothes and furnishings. That was as meticulously researched as the case.

  • May 22, 2008 iluvtalkies
    Report This User

    The epitome of anti-climax. Less to do with the fact that the killer was not caught and more to do with the fact that the movie had no point to it. While the character acting was quite good, there was no central message... just a bunch of concurrent threads surrounding the killings that weren't really strung together.

  • May 22, 2008 guiplayer7
    Report This User

    This film was excellent! What people need to realize is that it is not about "The Zodiac Killer" but about the people that were affected by their own obsession with the killer. How something can take control of our lives and lead us down a long dark road. If you left upset that the film didn't tell you exactly who the killer was, then the director did his job perfectly(by putting you in the same position as the characters). That was the whole point of the movie. Much like the actual case, it was long, captivating, misleading and eventually disappointing. However, if you fail to see exactly what this movie is REALLY about, then you would have been much happier spending your $10 on Norbit instead. The acting is great and the Directing is top notch. Also, notice in the credits that Fincher cast about five different actors as the Zodiac, based on actual case files depiction of the killer. I will recommend this movie to anyone who intrigued by the imagination of others and doesn't mind actually thinking about a movie for a few minutes after they leave. 5/5!

  • May 22, 2008 goodwillct
    Report This User

    I should not have been bored thru half of this movie. It was way too long.

  • May 22, 2008 me2484
    Report This User

    This movie killed me it was long and dry and i fell asleep about 4 times...i walker out at the 2 hr and 45 min mark from pure frustration of the plot. later to find out about the climax or lack there of. love al lthe actors, love the genre, couldnt pay me enough to watch 10 mins of this movie again

`

similar movies

  • Summer of Sam (1999)

  • Devil in a Blue Dress (1995)

  • The Laughing Policeman (1973)

  • The Constant Gardener (2005)

  • American Gangster (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X