The Producers Guild of America announced Monday its list of film and television nominees for its 2014 awards, and the list is as notable for its omissions as it is for its selections.

Among the films in the running for the top prize -- known formally as the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures -- are "American Sniper," "Birdman," "Boyhood," "Foxcatcher," "Gone Girl," "The Grand Budapest Hotel," "The Imitation Game," "Nightcrawler," "The Theory of Everything," and "Whiplash."

But it's the films that were left off the list that had awards season prognosticators in a tizzy Monday. "Selma," "Unbroken," and "Into the Woods" all failed to score nominations, leading some to wonder if those movies' Oscar chances have dimmed significantly.

On the television front, "American Horror Story: Freak Show," "Fargo," "The Normal Heart," "The Roosevelts: An Intimate History," and "Sherlock" all scored nominations in the long-form television category. Those series join the previously-announced nominees in the episodic television category, which includes "Breaking Bad," "Downton Abbey," "Game of Thrones," "House of Cards," and "True Detective."

The complete list announced Monday -- including the PGA's nominated animated features -- is below. (The full list, including previously announced nominees, can be found here.) The awards will be presented at a ceremony on January 24.


The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

American Sniper (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Producers: Bradley Cooper, p.g.a., Clint Eastwood, p.g.a., Andrew Lazar, p.g.a., Robert Lorenz, p.g.a., Peter Morgan, p.g.a.

Birdman (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, James W. Skotchdopole

Boyhood (IFC Films)

Producers: Richard Linklater, p.g.a., Cathleen Sutherland, p.g.a.

Foxcatcher (Sony Pictures Classics)

Producers: Megan Ellison, p.g.a., Jon Kilik, p.g.a., Bennett Miller, p.g.a.

Gone Girl (20th Century Fox)

Producer: Ceán Chaffin, p.g.a.

The Grand Budapest Hotel (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Producers: Wes Anderson & Scott Rudin, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales

The Imitation Game (The Weinstein Company)

Producers: Nora Grossman, p.g.a., Ido Ostrowsky, p.g.a., Teddy Schwarzman, p.g.a.

Nightcrawler (Open Road Films)

Producers: Jennifer Fox, Tony Gilroy

The Theory of Everything (Focus Features)

Producers: Tim Bevan & Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Anthony McCarten

Whiplash (Sony Pictures Classics)

Producers: Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Big Hero 6 (Walt Disney Animation Studios)

Producer: Roy Conli, p.g.a.

The Book of Life (20th Century Fox)

Producers: Brad Booker, p.g.a., Guillermo del Toro, p.g.a.

The Boxtrolls (Focus Features)

Producers: David Bleiman Ichioka, p.g.a., Travis Knight, p.g.a.

How To Train Your Dragon 2 (20th Century Fox)

Producer: Bonnie Arnold, p.g.a.

The LEGO Movie (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Producer: Dan Lin


The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

American Horror Story: Freak Show (FX)

Producers: Brad Buecker, Dante Di Loreto, Brad Falchuk, Joseph Incaprera, Alexis Martin Woodall, Tim Minear, Ryan Murphy, Jennifer Salt, James Wong

Fargo (FX)

Producers: Adam Bernstein, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Michael Frislev, Noah Hawley, Warren Littlefield, Chad Oakes, Kim Todd

The Normal Heart (HBO)

Producers: Jason Blum, Dante Di Loreto, Scott Ferguson, Dede Gardner, Alexis Martin Woodall, Ryan Murphy, Brad Pitt, Mark Ruffalo

The Roosevelts: An Intimate History (PBS)

Producers: To Be Determined

Sherlock (PBS)

Producers: Mark Gatiss, Steven Moffat, Beryl Vertue, Sue Vertue

[via: The Hollywood Reporter]