After the #OscarsSoWhite controversy that swirled around the Academy Awards earlier this year, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited a record 683 people as new members. That's over twice as many as last year, and 46 percent of the invitees are women and 41 percent are people of color.

The new members include 28 Oscar winners, ranging in age from 24 to 91, and hail from 59 countries. The list reflects the Academy's push to diversify its ranks after receiving criticism that none of the 2016 Oscar nominees were people of color.

That diverse list includes actors John Boyega, Rose Byrne, Idris Elba, Tina Fey, Luis Guzman, Tom Hiddleston, Oscar Isaac, Michael B. Jordan, Regina King, Daniel Dae Kim, Eva Mendes, Freida Pinto, Michelle Rodriguez, and Emma Watson. This year's winners Brie Larson, Mark Rylance, and Alicia Vikander were also added.

Directors and writers include Ryan Coogler ("Creed"), Ice Cube ("Friday"), Emma Donohue ("Room"), Cary Fukunaga ("Beasts of No Nation"), Park Chan-wook ("Oldboy"), Patty Jenkins ("Wonder Woman), and Sam Taylor-Johnson ("Fifty Shades of Grey").

Check out the complete list here.

Want more stuff like this? Like us on Facebook.