Skip to main content

reviews

29
Based on 21 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 17 )
  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    While the visuals are lovely to behold, this unremarkable version of the classic 18th century Japanese legend is stiff and uninvolving. show more

  • 50
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    An odd mix of stiff and sumptuous. show more

  • NA
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    In the monumentally dull 47 Ronin, Reeves mumbles monosyllabic claptrap between dull action scenes. And it’s a shame: At almost 50 years old, the actor allows this turgid, clanky flick to play to his worst stereotypes. show more

  • 30
    David Rooney The Hollywood Reporter

    It falls short on character definition, emotional involvement, narrative drive and originality. show more

  • 5
    David Ehrlich Film.com

    Insufferably boring, culturally hegemonic, and profoundly ugly. show more

  • 50
    Sara Stewart New York Post

    There’s little sense of urgency, or — oddly, given the film’s title — of scale. You never really think that the 47 are truly outnumbered, and the large action scenes are often just incomprehensible. show more

  • 25
    Kenji Fujishima Slant Magazine

    This botched vision accepts the warrior's nobility at face value and sees the story merely as a springboard for high-flying action and CGI special effects. show more

  • 25
    Roger Moore Movie Nation

    It’s a movie of pointless scenes. show more

  • 25
    Simon Abrams RogerEbert.com

    In spite of its enjoyable, easy-to-exploit aspects, 47 Ronin is a big budget spectacle hamstrung by its need to be at once flippant and respectful of its honor-driven source material. show more

  • 60
    Kim Newman Empire

    Perhaps a folly and – Kikuchi aside - too deadpan to be a romp, this is still a decent, colourful samurai spectacle with a classical look (lots of symmetrical compositions) and a story which stands up under multiple retellings. show more

  • January 20, 2014 Chris
    Report This User

    I enjoyed watching the movie. I guess you have to be Japanese to appreciate everything. So much good was last by the critics. I saw another movie reviewed by the critics that the critics gave me a false impression of what it was about and I definitely would not see it again.

  • January 13, 2014 cccen
    Report This User

    the begining is slow and end is dumb. Why, in front of such Emperor with the men power not kill the emperor at end instead of killing themselves? I\' sure the emperor didn\'t safe with such tribe of fearless men around his kingdom.

  • January 05, 2014 rmeritt
    Report This User

    How many of the critics that panned this movie have even been to Japan? We live in a world that doesn\'t need worthless critics. Smart phones have replaced your obsolete job. Go see this movie, it was great.

  • January 04, 2014 jarofstars
    Report This User

    This movie was pretty much what I expected...action and a mystical witch/monster. Honor of the samuri and eternal love. If the ending had been different I might have given it another star...

  • January 04, 2014 jx00000000176031
    Report This User

    It sucked…. It was very slow && had hardly any action. I actually asked my boyfriend if we could leave. But the ending was good. Finally! I do not recommend anyone to waste $10 a person to see th

  • December 31, 2013 kvjkvjkvj
    Report This User

    This film was absolutely wonderful. The critics have done the public a disservice. The cinematography, costumes and sets were breathtaking and the actors captured the emotions that the people felt but had to hide. This film should not be missed.

  • December 30, 2013 leihinamoon
    Report This User

    The critics don\'t know jack. We loved this film from the gorgeous cinematography and CGI to the incredible detail in the sets, costumes, swords and traditional armor. Keanu Reeves strong performance captured the essence of being an outcast in the rigid social structure of feudal Japan. Worth seeing!

  • December 29, 2013 eyeluvgam
    Report This User

    I totally enjoyed this movie. It brought the famous Japanese fable to life for me. I now want to some day visit the graves of the 47 Ronin and their master just outside of Tokyo. Di yourself a favor and do not listen to the critics. I may well go see it again!

  • December 29, 2013 Muriel
    Report This User

    I thought it was a very good movie. I almost didn\'t see it because the critics panned it so badly, but I am glad I did, it was a very good film.

  • December 29, 2013 lq00000000175546
    Report This User

    I loved everything about this movie. The costumes and set was fabulous. The story had depth and character. Keanu was wonderful. No blood and gore. Held my attention the entire time. Awesome movie. Worth my $15 bucks. Would and will see it again

`

similar movies

  • Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)

  • The Forbidden Kingdom (2008)

  • The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

  • Snow White and the Huntsman (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X