Skip to main content

reviews

80
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Just watch the magnificent Manville, in a raw and riveting award-class performance that exposes a grieving heart under siege. Her last scene is quietly devastating. So is this intimate miracle of a movie. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A gutsy movie, in that Leigh says something about life that nobody really wants to believe, and he says it forcefully: There is such a thing as "too late." show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Love and loneliness are presented, in almost equal parts, with subdued precision in the richly abundant Another Year. show more

  • 60
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Mike Leigh's latest film preserves the mystery of why another marriage has flourished over decades. That's not the stated subject of Another Year, but it's at the center of this enjoyable though insistently schematic comedy. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    It all comes down to affirmation vs. denial. Leigh chooses affirmation. And the result is life-affirming. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The perfect haven from the cheap ironies and cruel indifference we all have to field both in life and, far too often, at the movies. show more

  • 50
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    Acutely observed but gloomy and lacking narrative, it tells of 12 months in the life of a decent but dull suburban couple and their friends, most of whom you would go out of your way to avoid at a party. show more

  • 75
    Ella Taylor NPR

    Another Year is a stacked deck of a movie that draws a harshly unforgiving, sometimes smug line between boomers who've made good and those who've fallen by the wayside. show more

  • 85
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    It's as subversive and penetrating a treatment of the British character as we get on the big screen, and it's why I don't mind that Leigh keeps them coming 'round with the reliability of the cocktail hour. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Leigh's Another Year is like a long, purifying soak in empathy. show more

  • January 02, 2014 jpharkin
    Report This User

    The acting in the movie was extraordinarily good, especially Ms. manville with her expressive face. But why hasn\'t someone mentioned the strange beginning of this movie which has nothing to do with the rest of the movie, and the non-ending?

  • March 12, 2011 Tiascha
    Report This User

    Depressing and uninteresting. Flat, cliche-ish, and annoying characters. Skip this one.

  • March 08, 2011 sjmaerz
    Report This User

    94% Viewer Score and 80% Critic Score??? Are you kidding me? This movie isn't just bad, it is horrible. Went with my girlfriend, we were half of the four people in the theater and the other two left after half an hour, leaving us on our own. In the end we stuck it out just as a test of wills. There is simply no point to this awful movie except to make the viewer uncomfortable and depressed. Where is the character development? Why would you care about any of these people when we don't get to know anything about them? We are just skipping from one awkward scene to the next. No explanations, no conclusions, just nothing of substance. This is literally one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I truly can't fathom how Roger Ebert and a few others think this is a good movie, and the thought of this being nominated for any kind of award is absolutely absurd. Two hours of my life that I will never get back.

  • March 01, 2011 Hi LEAH DASSAH
    Report This User

    I believe this is an exceptional movie. The performance by Ms. Manville deserved to be considered in the Best Actress Oscar competition. I thought all the actors were so believeable and gave genuine authenticity to the roles they were in. I don't understand why, or how, this film was overlooked in all the awards competitio. The friendshiip between the married couple and their single friends, and newly widowed brother in law showed the poignant reality that those who were single were really alone,, desparate and needy to be part of the "couples"world.

  • February 13, 2011 thevisitor967
    Report This User

    Finally--one of the best films of the year! It should've gotten a Best Picture nod from the Academy Awards. I will admit--this movie may not be for everyone, especially those with a short attention span who are used to a lot of action. But for those who enjoy watching a movie with great dialogues and great acting--this is for you! In some way, the dialogue this movie reminded me of vintage Harold Pinter's plays--especially THE HOMECOMING. A perfect example of this was the scene between Mary and Ronnie towards the end of the film. There may not have been much action in this movie, but I knew exactly who the characters were and what they were doing through the dialogue. If you liked Eric Rohmer films--you'll love this one.

  • February 09, 2011 ChicagoPro
    Report This User

    Can you give a movie no stars? Apparently not...was forced to give it one star. It doesn't deserve it. The characters either made you cringe with embarrassment or yawn with boredom. If a masked gunman had burst into the kitchen and taken the entire cast out with a submachine gun, I would have given him a standing O. I cannot for the life of me imagine what the critics saw in this never-ending slog through a year in the life of some of the most unappealing people ever immortalized on the silver screen. Please please please save your money.

  • February 07, 2011 MIKES MUTT
    Report This User

    A movie is supposed to entertain, educate, take you for a ride or at least tell a good story.. Although well acted, this is the most pointless film I've ever seen. As with most movies, its all about the story and this one is devoid of any entertainment value.

  • February 05, 2011 rjlando
    Report This User

    Wnet with my wife and siister-in-law. What a WASTE OF TIME!. Couldnt wait to leave the theater. Someone need to expliain this very slow moving plot to me. I guess six years of college is not enoggh.

  • January 14, 2011 lindajohnson7070
    Report This User

    I am so good at picking movies but felt this was a chick flick so I went alone to see it at the last minute because I wanted to see it so much. I even invited my 40 year old daughter to go but she wasn't available. Boy, am I SO GLAD that I didn't drag my husband or daughter to experience this. It was SO BAD! Talk about a waste of my time! Four people walked out after an hour and I was ready to follow but since it got good reviews I thought I'd bear through it. When it was over, people dashed out and I heard many grumbling what a nothing movie it was. I registered for this website just to submit my first review.

  • December 31, 2010 anand
    Report This User

    A glimpse into a couple's life, if this interests you, you'll enjoy it. Otherwise a bit slow, sad.

similar movies

  • On Golden Pond (1981)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • The Past (2013)

  • Philomena (2013)

  • Enough Said (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X