Skip to main content

reviews

25
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 28 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The film is intended to be light and whimsical, but with a core of sincere emotion. But it's as if the thing were made by Martian anthropologists who assume that human audiences are as twisted as the people onscreen. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It tries to pass itself off as a film about feistiness, forgiveness and the bonds of motherhood. Instead, it deals lightly and inappropriately with promiscuity, alcoholism, drug abuse, grief and child molestation. Georgia Rule doesn't make you feel good; it makes you queasy. show more

  • NA
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Certain words should be reserved for special occasions. "Abysmal" is one of them, and Georgia Rule is as special as such occasions get. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The American public likes nothing better than a tragedy with a happy ending, William Dean Howells observed. But Marshall so cautiously downplays the tragic elements of his plot that the sweetness and light left a sour taste in my mouth. show more

  • 25
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Misguided at best and repellent at worst, the movie has, ironically enough, a single asset: Lohan's performance as a rebellious, uncontrollable teen. show more

  • 30
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Proves to be more prone to malfunction than dysfunction. show more

  • 63
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Hector Elizondo, who has appeared in all 15 of Marshall's features, turns up as a Basque rancher and adds a bit of sparkle. I just wish Marshall's good luck charm was not a 70-year-old actor but a fresh, honest screenplay. show more

  • 50
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    Maybe Georgia Rule should be required viewing for Paris Hilton during her term in the slammer. But not for us. show more

  • 38
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Spin it however they like, the troubled but talented Lohan isn't what's wrong with this misbegotten mess. show more

  • 25
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Georgia Rule is so artificial, it feels like more of a flow chart than a slice of life. show more

  • August 27, 2011 bjjaneret
    Report This User

    Georgia Rule is a good movie and Jane Fonda is a awesome attress ane Lyndsey Lohan played good party enjoyed the movie....bjjaneret@aol.com Saw the movie on cable

  • December 24, 2008 sassyarmogirl793
    Report This User

    It was a really interesting movie, and a deep one, too. A mother, a daughter, and a granddaughter all learn lessons from one another.

  • October 05, 2008 HCJC5793
    Report This User

    Hay up your's... that movie was ******* good, and how can you talk shit about "Lindsay lohan" go look in the mirror im sure you have done some pretty ****** up things in you life!

  • May 22, 2008 Judy Emmons
    Report This User

    Georgia Rule sucked. Lindsay Lohen, or whatever her name is, was terrible in this movie, and there is not one thing attactive about her face, her body, her voice. She is disgusting.

  • May 22, 2008 cu1turevu1ture49
    Report This User

    I'm fortunate to see a new movie about once a week. After seeing the trailer for this film, I was expecting a family comedy/drama. And with Jane Fonda heading the cast, I figured this would be a good movie. Well I was fooled by the trailer. The comedy is at the expense of Felicity Huffman's character and not really funny but meanspirited in the depection of her drinking problem. Fonda is wasted in too small a role and if you dislike Lindsey Lohan, you'll really hate her after seeing her here. Her character seems to mirror her real life and this backfires on the audience. You have no sympathy for this manipulative liar. 'm not sure when she was telling the truth by the movie's end and didn't really care. Even the so-called happy ending can't save this mess and at that point I didn't care too. There's an uneven, unresolved balance between comedy

  • May 22, 2008 tnyskeeter01
    Report This User

    First of all, i would'nt walk across the street to see that bitch! Most likeky most of you are too young to remember her from the Viet-nam era...ask your parents..they remember.):

  • May 22, 2008 hllylv
    Report This User

    I think that it was great that the subject manner of the movie was presented in the way it was. For most people the subject is taboo, and it being brought out in a movie opens it up so it's more acceptable to talk about. i am glad that it was dealt with in a somewhat humorous way, it would have been too serious for most people in another way. this story mimics one in really life that i know of - the responsible adult was unable to protect thier chld from this type of abuse b/c they were an alcoholic. Fom a sociological perspective this movie also points out reasons why some youth act out, it isnt always just becuase they are a bad seed. A lot of promiscuity follows after abuse. For those who thought the subject matter was horrible, that is the type of thinkning that allows abuse to go on in scilence, becuase no one wants to talk about it.

  • May 22, 2008 mamapapa98
    Report This User

    what the hell are the critics watching when the Good Shepherd gets a 69 and Georgia rule, which was 100% more watchable only gets a 29.

  • May 22, 2008 ktlb4
    Report This User

    This was an awful movie. There was only one other person in the theater, and she left in the middle.Who could find child molestation funny? It just proves how SICK Hollywood is. In their little twisted world, this is normal life.

  • May 22, 2008 gault50
    Report This User

    Held interest, but heavy plot. I can say that at least it wasn't predictable. Very serious subject, done well.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X