Skip to main content

reviews

84
Based on 43 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 80 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The top-tier cast, including Tilda Swinton as a character called Social Services, may be star overload, but each actor performs small miracles. show more

  • 100
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    The formality of Moonrise Kingdom - the orderly structure and dreamlike perfection of it all - is as poetic as any film I've seen this year. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Literate, melancholy and magical, Moonrise Kingdom is quintessential Wes Anderson, infused with his brand of daffy wit. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Beguiling and endearing. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    The usual complaints and caveats about Anderson - he's precious, his characters have no grounding in the real world - can be made about Moonrise Kingdom, but so what? This is his seventh feature, he has been working with a gang of collaborators in front of the camera and behind, and his worldview gets richer, and more revealing, even as the view from his lens gets smaller, closer, almost two-dimensional in its oddball tableaux. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Though not as impactful as Anderson's strongest works - including its adolescent cousin, "Rushmore" - "Kingdom" unfolds with an asymmetrical lyricism of its own. show more

  • 80
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    This is a Wes Anderson film -- more lightweight than some, possessing a stronger emotional undertow than others -- that will strike the uninitiated as conspicuously arch. show more

  • 65
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    So why can't I love Moonrise Kingdom? For all the movie's technical meticulousness, the storytelling still has a wiggly-waggly quality, like a dangly loose tooth. show more

  • 89
    Ian Buckwalter NPR

    Anderson has the ability to control our emotions just as expertly as his camera. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The film is precious and adorable, but it isn't naïve, and the movie breathes so deep that Anderson even gets a real performance out of Willis (this is his best work in years). show more

  • January 04, 2013 sm00000000134753
    Report This User

    This is the definition of a movie!

  • December 30, 2012 joelcline
    Report This User

    Quirky, strange, original...Just like me!

  • December 19, 2012 lukebarnhart77
    Report This User

    Wonderful. A great homage to an older style of film. Very cute, and quite entertaining.

  • October 21, 2012 vn00000000110755
    Report This User

    I do not know how people liked this!

  • September 22, 2012 an00000000129659
    Report This User

    On excellent movie; one of the two best I\'ve seen in this decade. I\'m not at all surprised at the critical remarks, though. This is NOT the type of movie that would appeal to those who follow the crowds, think inside the box, or are nearly brain-dead from watching lots of movies with graphic violence, graphic sex, and mind-numbing action. I\'m amazed that even though they might read reviews and see the previews, they will still pay their money to go and see a movie you would think they know they won\'t like. Amazing!

  • September 19, 2012 judy perez
    Report This User

    This was a strange campy movie. Not worth a nichel. Stay home.

  • September 11, 2012 dv00000000129444
    Report This User

    NICE! So different and unpredictable!

  • September 04, 2012 ng00000000125422
    Report This User

    It was much to my surprise that my movie date leaned over half way through the film and whispered in my ear \'I don\'t get *********** funny? yes?\' Particularly when I had just spent the last hour with a big smile on my face... So I did what any reasonable male would do in similar *************. Never called her back. But it is now, as I put down these words, that I realize Wes Anderson might invent the kind of humor that speaks in sly remarks and intelligent repartee. After all, this is the gentleman responsible for \"The Royal Tenenbaums\" and \"Life Aquatic.\" Films filled with all kinds of quirky characters that are never obvious to decipher. Perhaps is my European upbringing that allows me to relate to his flavor of sense of humor. In the old country it is rare to have a laugh at someone smashing a pie in your face, a-la-Jim-Carrey. Too obvious. We do it more with combinations of words that require three different explanations and a day to marinade. Neither is better. It just tastes different. With or without my rather attractive yet long-gone companion, Wes Anderson delivered quite the good film. On the surface the story follows the romantic quest of a teen couple determined to come together and run away whether the adults like it or not. Which is a good thing, because the adults seem to be the ones out of touch with things in this Anderson microcosm. The kids are on point, determined, and ready to make all the adult decisions. Which is the humor of the thing. While the adults are always at a loss, indecisive, and in total disarray, specially in their personal lives. The dramatic performances were exacted with such surgical precision that it is obviously directed as such. No human takes their words and emotions to that extreme wax-museum-like delivery. Again, that is the humor of the thing. I found the marriage of music and imagery fantastic. It opens as it ends. The visuals leave no room for mistaken identity. There is always a haunting quality of being trapped inside a doll house within a little kid\'s story book. A compromise of innocence and seriousness from which to tell a story of painfully contrasting human emotions. The unrelenting honesty of a true heart ache versus the hopeless defeat of a disappointing adult world. Fantastic. One last thing... To the gorgeous girl whose calls I didn\'t return... Call me back. I found a movie with lots of smashing pies.

  • August 31, 2012 margcriv
    Report This User

    I am a fan of Wes Anderson\'s movies- I especially liked Moonrise Kingdom- the beautiful music was an intergral part of the film. Great and humorous performances by everyone. Touching and funny story about young love, family and being different.

  • August 14, 2012 sc00000000117744
    Report This User

    I failed to like this movie despite my dedication to seeing any Bruce Willis and/or Bill Murray film. Great cast, pedestrian plot.

`

similar movies

  • A Little Romance (1979)

  • My Life as a Dog (1985)

  • Small Change (1976)

  • Lars and the Real Girl (2007)

  • Enough Said (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X