Skip to main content

reviews

60
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 41 )
  • 75
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    This breezy action comedy is a noisy affirmation that life goes on after 50, that retirement doesn't mean redundancy, and that nobody - young or old - can wear a long cream evening gown like Mirren. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The uneven humor, half-baked plot and generic action scenes keep RED from being much fun. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The best part of Red is the spectacle of terrific actors being terrific in novel ways. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Too long, too busy, too loud, and too reliant on slam-bang stunt work, Red's glib dialogue and sinister government scenarios begin to wear. show more

  • 70
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    To underestimate actors of this caliber -- even in a popcorn action flick -- would be dangerous indeed. show more

  • 80
    John DeFore The Hollywood Reporter

    Even the more cartoonish performances, like John Malkovich's acid-damaged paranoiac, fit the movie's vision of the vanished, wild-and-woolly heyday of spycraft. show more

  • 75
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    The result is like a sugar rush after a visit to the vintage candy store. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Red has more snappy joy in store than practically all of last summer's busted blockbusters. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    It's a lot of fun and, because of the high quality of the cast, there's no need to feel guilty about praising such an inherently silly motion picture. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    One of those rare action comedies that actually delivers action and comedy. show more

  • August 25, 2013 Mr. Englander
    Report This User

    Dreadful movie. Dialog is ridiculous, story evem moreso. Willis wispers amd moves like a robot throughout. Perhaps he was as bored as I was. Malkovich overacts and Mirrin looks embarassed (as she should). The only one to do a creditable job was that Urban guy. I\'d give it no stars at all.

  • March 28, 2011 Jeannie BB
    Report This User

    Loved it and would rate it Five Star, but then I am an 85 year old lady, what do I know, other than I loved every minute!!! J

  • February 25, 2011 sw33tduchesse
    Report This User

    This movie made my whole month of lame movies that was showing that month. This movie is a must see. Great action and comic relief movie.

  • February 19, 2011 Simarusan
    Report This User

    I saw this more as a comedy than an action movie so I didn't take it as seriously as the others I've rated. The a choice of actors a was superb. A great movie for a pick me up and each character shows a different kind of insane. There was only one major sereious moment in the movie when I yelled Nooooo! but the movie itself was pretty good even with the predictable ending.

  • February 05, 2011 qe3jo
    Report This User

    Wonderfully funny~Malkovich's alone were worth the price of admission! Hope they will do a sequel In Moldova.

  • February 01, 2011 guitaristnickc
    Report This User

    Haha, this movie was funny as well as having tons of action!

  • January 31, 2011 michmwou
    Report This User

    its a fun movie u dont know whats next

  • December 28, 2010 Weston
    Report This User

    Boring!!!!

  • December 20, 2010 kalstahlstahl
    Report This User

    Loved this movie

  • December 03, 2010 User983689
    Report This User

    "RED" is the most fun I've had at the movies since "Date Night." I'm a cheapskate who'd rather wait for just about any film to come out on NetFlix, but I have seen "RED" in the same theatre twice in two weeks! It's a rolicking spy thriller, shoot-em-up, love story and sophisticated comedy filled with twists and turns and really excellent explosions -- and I don't usually LIKE explosions! Bruce Willis is manly and sexy and sweet and tender and oh-so-capable of defending himself against all comers. Mary Louise Parker looks exactly two days older than she did in "Fried Green Tomatoes," and plays the hapless dame with credibility and style. Malkovich couldn't be more Malkovich, although it took a few seconds for me to recognize him, and Morgan Freeman was marvelous, especially in full military regalia. You really must see Helen Mirren in the white dress; don't miss it. She was magnificent with the machine gun, too. The star-studded lineup includes Richard Dreyfuss, who also done himself proud. But really, go for the laughs. It's a great escape on a chilly night. I'll be buying it soon!

`

similar movies

  • Red 2 (2013)

  • Salt (2010)

  • The Dark Knight (2008)

  • The Bourne Identity (2002)

  • X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X