Skip to main content

reviews

47
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 34 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The mix of comedy and drama is winning; Costner couldn't be better, and the little girl is a find. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This reasonably entertaining movie falters by trying to be both a dark comedy and a sentimental treatise on family and country. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Swing Vote is messy and its targets are relatively safe. But its aim is true. And Costner's performance hits the bull's-eye. show more

  • 50
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    A good-ol'-boy civics lesson that's too scattered to achieve its predictable goals. show more

  • 20
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Paints a surprisingly sour portrait of nearly all its characters, so much so that even the final-reel redemption rings hollow and forced. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie is a genial comedy, but it has significant undertones. Like some of Frank Capra's pictures. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Swing Vote marries mild satire with Capra-esque melodrama in a formula that works surprisingly well. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    The film seems like a loose and uncredited updating of "The Great Man Votes," a more serious 1939 entry. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    This one may be soft and derivative. But the actors establish a groove and stay on-message. show more

  • 50
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Everyone, including the candidates, will recognize the importance of civic duty, leaving Swing Vote to end with swelling music and uplifting speechifying but on a completely unsatisfactory note. show more

  • August 21, 2008 Ron
    Report This User

    Like the relationship of the father and daughter at time, was heartwarming and entertaining. But can't remember how he voted in the end, so guess it didn't hold my attention....lol....Buy on DVD

  • August 16, 2008 Suwanee Barb
    Report This User

    Highlight of this movie was how it ended. Plot was very predictable.

  • August 16, 2008 usssledge
    Report This User

    Great movie. Really illustrates how politicians will sway whichever way they need to whenever they need to. Funny, heartwarming and meaningful!!

  • August 15, 2008 miamibobk
    Report This User

    BORING! A five minute gag stretched over 120 minutes. Kevin Costner needs to find some good rolls. He hasn't made a good film in years

  • August 11, 2008 RYAN JACOB TEXT
    Report This User

    I loved the movie , refreshing well done funny , a must see for all. The little girl was amazing Kevin was so convincing as his role .. Movie was produced to perfection , plot was funny and very timely we all have had politics shoved down are throat , this was fun .. go see it you will ove it !

  • August 11, 2008 JodieLeigh17
    Report This User

    This movie was so cute. I couldn't stop laughing half the time! It a great father daughter movie.

  • August 11, 2008 jeremyismediocre
    Report This User

    I wouldn't go in expecting too much but its a well done movie for what it is. The movie is more about a lazy bum of a dad's relationship with his daughter than politics. Think of it as a cute Dad needing something to get him to wise up and take better care of his daughter movie, with the backdrop happening to be a comedic look into our political elections. I enjoyed the movie but if you are expecting this to be an insightful movie into American politics it definitely won't leave your party arguing politics.

  • August 10, 2008 PJMacKoe
    Report This User

    We thought this movie was great! It was funny and very sweet at the end. Some seem to be overly critical of this movie but we thought it was very good. It was also nice to see that neither party was bashed more than the other. There was some language in it but that seemed to fit Kevin Costners character so we were ok with that. Enjoy it!

  • August 08, 2008 emmo353
    Report This User

    This was a wonderful summer movie. Kevin Costner was at his best. I am sure we will be seeing more of the little girl who played his daughter.

  • August 08, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    Swing Vote, starring Kevin Costner, is a movie that explores what might happen if a complete loser who knows little about political issues is placed in the position of choosing the next president of the United States. Read my full review at johnhuntspace.com/swingvote.html

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X