Skip to main content

reviews

72
Based on 40 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 111 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    War Horse gets to you. It's one from the heart. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    There are extraordinary and beautiful things in War Horse, enough of them to make the movie a pleasure and a worthwhile experience, though not enough to trick the eye or get you believing this movie hangs together. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    War Horse will likely take its place alongside beloved family films. But that doesn't mean sitting through it is pure pleasure. It's a long slog at almost 2½ hours, and occasionally it resorts to obvious sentimentality. At times it's hard to escape the sense that we're watching "Saving Private Ryan"-meets-"The Black Stallion." show more

  • 60
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The result is a film that may stay in the mind's eye longer than it lingers in the heart. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Spielberg and his team - composer John Williams, as always, cinematographer Janusz Kaminski, screenwriter Richard Curtis - never forget their mission: to pull at heart strings, jerk some tears. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    While the Tony-winning play based on the same book creates unexpected impact through strikingly inventive puppetry, Spielberg is at a disadvantage in employing such a literal approach. Not even animals as beautiful as these can substitute for human ingenuity and imagination. show more

  • 70
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Whatever its missteps, this is a film that kids, middle-aged adults and grandparents can all see -- together or separately -- and get something out of in their own ways. There are precious few films that fit this description today and hats off to Spielberg for making one. show more

  • 85
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    For all its borrowing from old Hollywood, I don't think War Horse is particularly nostalgic. The word I'd use is wistful. It's the largest, most lavish handful of wistfulness money can buy, and sometimes it's too much. Yet it's nice to know that even Steven Spielberg can still wish for something. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    There isn't a moment in the movie where you don't feel Spielberg's passion, and this time, the film is worthy of his enthusiasm. It's a knockout. show more

  • 100
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    It's not a knock on Steven Spielberg to say he is history's finest maker of children's movies. His capacity to evoke simplicity, awe, beauty and unconditional love are his genius, and his vision of the children's story War Horse is a gorgeous, majestic fable about a boy who yearns to be reunited with his steed. show more

  • January 13, 2013 dthew69613
    Report This User

    Outstanding - should of been the best picture of the year!!

  • October 24, 2012 tgranny54
    Report This User

    this story is so sad and i believe one of the best movies i have even seen. the book was magnificent

  • May 28, 2012 eileenmericle
    Report This User

    So beautifully conceived and filmed I was transported out of Arkansas into dreamland. My husband is 87 and said he was glad to see such a fine film at the last.

  • May 10, 2012 ABux881580
    Report This User

    I saw this movie last week on Demand. It was good, I rate it about a B. my boyfriend couldn\'t really relate to it though, the era of course was way before our time and it was a bit boring, the scenery was pretty though. I wouldn\'t buy this movie, good to see once and that\'s it.

  • May 01, 2012 uv00000000122701
    Report This User

    particular attention to the horse, the better performance in the film in some scenes it was possible to doubt the horse to be as good an actor, the movie is great at some points, but exaggerated in others, like war scenes where everything goes for a slapstick comedy, optimal visual effects and photographs.

  • April 24, 2012 tnspage
    Report This User

    BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • April 21, 2012 xh00000000119409
    Report This User

    Awesome movie, one of the best I have seen this year so far

  • April 20, 2012 li40bra60
    Report This User

    best movie i have seen in awhile. loved it.

  • April 14, 2012 oi00000000118867
    Report This User

    \"Separated by war, tested by battle, bound by friendship.\" Those were the words on the movie poster for War Horse, which I have hanging up in the hall way next to my room. War Horse, directed by the legendary Steven Spielberg conveyed that message to its core. Heartwarming its viewers, and taking the place of favorite movie in my heart. The trails Joey went through to survive such a brutal war just seeped into my head unlike most movies I\'ve seen about this. The one thing that made this movie great is the actors. I\'ve never seen any of the actors before, but each one acted better than some of the more known ones, at least in my eyes. This really captivated me because it seemed like a real experience, one with real people, not ones that we see on the View each day. Hell, even Joey acted good. Haha. Still, this movie kicks so much ***, it is a MUST SEE! 5/5 stars, 10/10, should of won the award in my opinion. So quit your job, divorce your wife, put your kids up for adoption, do what ever you need to in order to find the time to watch War Horse.

  • April 11, 2012 Dee
    Report This User

    Ok, so the story is heartwarming, but I found it so hard to watch. The brutality to the horses during the war is hard to stomach. As a horse owner, there were times I just wanted to throw up. If you can skip all that then I guess you could call it a great movie. To me the first 20 minutes and the last 10 were the only parts easy to watch. I find the comments using words like pleasure and enjoyable are a little loose.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X