Skip to main content

reviews

76
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 50 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A different kind of love story: an honest one that takes a piece out of you. show more

  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    An irresistible feel-good movie about love gone bad. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Much like Annie Hall did for a previous generation, (500) Days of Summer may be the movie that best captures a contemporary romantic sensibility. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    An exhaustive and exhausting dissection of a relationship that was never all that promising in the first place. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Deschanel does what she does seemingly without effort, managing to convey Summer's mixed-up messed-upness. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    A romantic comedy that feels like real life. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The writing is often clever and the overall production playful and intelligent. show more

  • 40
    Nathan Lee NPR

    For all its rhetorical whimsy and hipster dressings, (500) Days of Summer is a thoroughly conservative affair, as culturally and romantically status quo as any Jennifer Aniston vehicle. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Here is a rare movie that begins by telling us how it will end and is about how the hero has no idea why. show more

  • 100
    Premiere

    Much like the actual summer (the season, not the character), we never wanted it to end. show more

  • September 17, 2011 foney372
    Report This User

    my favorite movie of all time. and i\'m not exagerating when i say that.

  • December 31, 2009 bpositivebreal
    Report This User

    I have seen 500 Days of Summer three times. I loved the way in which the characters talk, but they do not deeply communicate. It really made me think about young love and early relationships. And, how we don't know what we are doing when we enter them :) It's not oscar material, but a movie with heart and soul -- that makes you think.

  • December 23, 2009 LAfootballstar
    Report This User

    This movie is very over rated! by eading reviews i was very excited to watch ******* okay at best theres about 5 mins total of parts that worth watching him dancing after he scores and the last 2 mins of the movies

  • December 22, 2009 Jjdogg84
    Report This User

    very original im not one to watch chick flicks my girlfriend forced me to watch this movie and i gotta say not bad its worth a peek...

  • October 15, 2009 CJaneSqdance
    Report This User

    I loved this movie, there is so much TRUTH in it more so then any love story I have ever seen! I saw it with my 15 yr ol granddaughter and we were able to talked about relationships and how they can be one sided. I saw it agin with my husband. I am going to buy the DVD I

  • October 05, 2009 Cindy
    Report This User

    I loved this movie for many reasons, especially because it showed a love story from the perspective of the male, instead of the female. You don't see that very often and it was so refreshing. I am going to see it again next week, with a friend who has not seen it yet.

  • January 09, 2010 Rean Rossier
    Report This User

    This was a great romantic comedy one of my favorite romantic films because it was not really a comedy but very great performances and this film was really great to watch. TWO THUMPS UP- Rean Rossier

  • September 18, 2009 coolap
    Report This User

    I loved this movie!!! I saw it twice and loved it even more the second time! The way that it is crafted and placed together make it amazing. It is another side to love, and is not the total cliche of Boy and Girl fall in love....the end...it is so much better. The actors in this film are great and perfect for their roles. The soundtrack was the cherry on top of the great film. It made me feel like I'm not the only person that has been in a situation where you love someone but they do not love you back. It is my favorite movie of the year if not of all time. I would recomend this film to everyone; it's funny, cute, and brilliant. Five stars

  • September 14, 2009 Tloarie
    Report This User

    Not a love story but a story about what love is and is not. Good story, good acting - not a true chick flick as most men will enjoy this equally.

  • September 05, 2009 CKWhite214
    Report This User

    The movie was pretty cute. ending could have been a little bit more uplifting, but i think they wer getting across a messsage.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X