Skip to main content

reviews

41
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 92 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Way to go, Battleship: Take the crassest of cynical junk, slather it in jingoism and sell it as rah-rah fun for right-wingers. show more

  • 25
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    It's loud, it's large, it's stupid, and its best gag involves a chicken burrito. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Mostly, Battleship is a noisy, overlong and numbing military-vs.-aliens saga with laughably bad dialogue. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Like "Transformers," which it rivals in relentlessness, Battleship comes with its own force field, a furious energy that renders criticism irrelevant. show more

  • NA
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The worst humans-fighting-aliens movie I've ever seen. And I've seen a lot of humans-fighting-aliens movies. show more

  • 60
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Those looking for big, loud sci-fi action will find plenty to like here as director Peter Berg (Hancock, Friday Night Lights) pumps up the volume on clashing military hardware and flag-waving heroics. show more

  • 50
    Bob Mondello NPR

    The story, by brothers Erich and Jon Hoeber, who also penned the clever, quippy, aging-assassin movie "Red," is cleverer and quippier than it has any reason to be, even if it makes not the remotest sense. show more

  • 55
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Actually, the picture is perhaps not quite as painful as you might be expecting, though probably not as enjoyable, either. show more

  • 75
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    An invigorating blast of cinematic adrenaline. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The nicest touch is that Battleship has an honest-to-God third act, instead of just settling for nonstop fireballs and explosions, as Bay likes to do. I don't want to spoil it for you. Let's say the Greatest Generation still has the right stuff and leave it at that. show more

  • September 10, 2012 dodacrazy
    Report This User

    Wow,this movie was a great show for a family to watch

  • September 05, 2012 Bobby
    Report This User

    WHAT CAN I SAY.IT *****************!

  • September 04, 2012 eagle2049
    Report This User

    Visually stunning. The graphics in this movie were amazing. But the storyline greatly needed help. Some parts were very over the top borderlining on campy. But it is geared toward young boys and makes for a fun rental.

  • September 02, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Ripped off Independence Day, Transformers, and Star Trek, but, that wasn\'t what made it bad. The writing was sophmoric, and the acting was pitiful. Other than that, I hated it.

  • August 25, 2012 fo00000000127820
    Report This User

    excellent sci-fy and i\'m not sure why this got bad reviews

  • August 19, 2012 patriot6
    Report This User

    What a great movie! I went to see \"Battleship \" thinking that it was going to be just a average movie. Wow! What a great ending. I love it!

  • July 07, 2012 ng00000000125422
    Report This User

    Good news! This movie is not bad. Seriously... I went to see this movie particularly because every one in the media said this was beyond awful. The second flop of the summer. So I did the sensible thing and grabbed a couple of friends. Although I had to bribe them with free tickets because they wouldn\'t volunteer otherwise. I figured if I\'m going to attend an airplane crash I\'ll need witnesses. So I made the investment. And guess what? This movie wasn\'t bad at all! My one friend said the movie had nothing to do with the promotional efforts out there. While the other said he loved the action. Personally, I thought it was a simply good popcorn movie. The issue with this movie falling below expectations might be that disease that has plagued a lot of super expensive Hollywood movies for a decade now. The marketing for the film set the bar so high that it was impossible to find it pleasing. I understand the studio accountants have to justify the expense and push that thing out there hard. But the reason why all three of us enjoyed this movie is exactly the opposite reason: We expected nothing of it... Perhaps this is what Hollywood oughtta take a page from. Let some projects fly a bit more on their own and they fly farther. As far as the movie\'s own merits. The acting was a job well done by everyone. The characters were written vacuous enough to fulfill their action movie gig. Not much else was expected from them, and they delivered well. Sometimes acting is best served sushi style. Raw and simple. The plot was clear from the get go. You know where it\'s headed and expect to get there as all big Hollywood movies do. Blowing stuff up. And the explosions looked awesome. The special effects were amazing. I was hoping more aliens would show up. Blow up those suckers again! There were a couple of surprise turns sprinkled here and there just to keep my eyes away from the pop corn but not enough to complicate things. The biggest one being the old crew in the museum boat. Maybe they did take it a bit into the hokey lane with that one. But, let\'s face it, old folks buy tickets too, and what would be a Hollywood blockbuster without a little camp in it?

  • July 05, 2012 myroseblood
    Report This User

    AWESOME!!!!

  • June 29, 2012 oj00000000126267
    Report This User

    Great Movie!

  • June 16, 2012 Gary Joyner
    Report This User

    Battleship is just good for explosions and CGI. It\'sucks when it comes to character development. I

`

similar movies

  • Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009)

  • Battle: Los Angeles (2011)

  • War of the Worlds (2005)

  • Marvel's the Avengers (2012)

  • Star Trek (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X