Skip to main content

reviews

55
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Its weaknesses are clumsy plotting and a less-than-satisfying ending. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    If one were to fuse the literary sensibility of Jane Austen with the fanciful imaginative license of "Shakespeare in Love," what would emerge would likely be the charming tale Becoming Jane. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    Austen comes off here more as stenographer than writer. Worse, the movie has Tom Lefroy as her condescending guide. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    With so many good Austen adaptations out there (the Keira Knightley Pride & Prejudice, the Colin Firth Pride and Prejudice, Emma Thompson and Ang Lee's splendid Sense and Sensibility), Becoming Jane seems a bit flimsy by comparison. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    We can't quite shake the feeling we've seen this all done before, and better. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The way all of this plays out is acted warmly by the principals, and Eigil Bryld's photography (of Ireland) makes England look breathtakingly green and inviting. The director, Julian Jarrold ("Kinky Boots" and the TV version of "White Teeth") is comfortable with the material, and it is comfortable with him. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Instead of trying to make Austen's life entertaining by pretending it was just like her work - as in the dull recent French movie "Molière" - Becoming Jane has a more astute appreciation of how Austen, or any fiction writer, works. There's a bit of stealing from life, lots of exaggeration, some wish fulfillment, mix-and-match character assembly. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Anne Hathaway's Jane is headstrong and clever, balanced and true. show more

  • 75
    Premiere

    Hathaway's proven charms work magic here. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Where the film goes wrong is in its attempts to cling too firmly to "Pride and Prejudice." show more

  • September 26, 2011 icegirl
    Report This User

    Did any one knew that Jane was not wear historically underwear under her long white night gown she was wear g-string at the time when she got up?

  • August 13, 2008 nclark591
    Report This User

    Far from historically accurate..but who cares? it was cute, funny , and charming, much like the beautiful james mcavoy...and surprisingly, it did not follow the typical cliche hollywood endings..definitely recommend it.

  • July 28, 2008 Ldycourtesan16
    Report This User

    This has become one of my all time favorite movies. Anne Hathaway is flawless and James McAvoy now takes his place as one of the best British actors I have ever seen. To complain about a two second barely visible nude scene is patently absurd. This movie was absorbing from beginning to end. The love story broke my heart and all and all was a beautiful, beautiful movie. I have bought it and watch it over and over.

  • May 22, 2008 trianacenter
    Report This User

    This remake was horrible. John Carpenter should never have given permission to that shock rock freak of a man Zombie to redo his masterpiece. All Zombie knows is blood and gore. He doesnt know acting because none of the actors could act. The girl that played Laurie Strode su Trust me. Go and watch the original one. It is much better.

  • May 22, 2008 beck5454
    Report This User

    I loved the movie theme, scnnery and dialogue, but was angry with the PG rating since they was bare rear end nudity of men taking a splash in a lake. It was unnecessary and didn't fit with the tone of the movie. It had nothing whatsoever to do with the plot and appeared put it because the movie makers thought we wanted it. However, in the theatre there was a collective gasp from the audience. It was unexpected, cheesy and ridiculous. Why the movie industry thinks a classy movie like this needs to be spiced up with incongruent nudity is beyond me. The audience's reaction proved it wasn't necessary or desired. As a result, there is lost revenue from me. I would have gone at least 2 more times and taken some family and friends with me. I would have encouraged others to go. I had to tell college children who went with me I was sorry I took them. Instead of making more money, they will only get one ticket out of me!

  • May 22, 2008 Janken4
    Report This User

    It was so refreshing to see such a beautiful love story, sprinkled with plenty of humor, and no sex scenes or profanity. I wish that Hollywood would make more movies like this one. I can't wait until it comes out on DVD so I can buy it.

  • May 22, 2008 nineofus40
    Report This User

    If you like rock that just makes you want to listen over and over again check out Drists newest C.D Orchids and Ammunition

  • May 22, 2008 jgold1124
    Report This User

    Good movie........needs subtitles. Could notr understand most of the dialogue.

  • May 22, 2008 karin316
    Report This User

    Beautiful settings, but editing could have been better. Characters introduced in beginning were not always clear on who they were and how they related to Jane. But all in all, a beautiful film, a lovely "Jane" who almost got the English accent right, and a well told story.

  • May 22, 2008 padoma3
    Report This User

    EVEN ANNE COULDN'T SAVE THIS ONE. WHAT DRIVAL. WENT NEXT DOOR TO WATCH THE ENDING OF "ONCE"AGAIN. NOW THAT WAS A GOOD MOVIE.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X