Skip to main content

reviews

50
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 106 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The movie left me with the feeling of being trapped with a person of privilege who won't stop with the whine whine whine. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It is 140 minutes long and repetitious beyond belief. Yet for all its weaknesses - unconscious contradictions, travelogue simplicity and mix-and-match spirituality - Eat Pray Love is, like its central character, on a genuine quest. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The whole journey feels like a rich girl gone slumming. And for those of us along for the ride, it's a bit of a slog. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Still, Eat Pray Love preaches a sermon it doesn't practice-the need to open one's self to the world. In a pictorial sense this is exactly what Liz does; she vacuums up the transformative essence of three continents. Yet the world gets weirdly short shrift because this transcendently narcissistic movie is, in a narrative sense, almost entirely about Liz and the movie star who plays her. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It lacks the resonances of Gilbert's book. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Director Ryan Murphy achieved a major casting coup in landing Julia Roberts to play Gilbert - or Liz, as she's called here. As it turns out, though, a lesser star may have been a better choice. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film never ventures, even once, into a situation that does not reek of comfy familiarity. show more

  • 50
    Scott Tobias NPR

    Though Eat Pray Love never loses the sour whiff of unexamined first-world privilege, its heroine does at least immerse herself in different cultures rather than expecting them to adapt to her. show more

  • 75
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Eat Pray Love works quite serviceably as a light comedy and a pleasing travelogue. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    The film is far from perfect, but it's likely to inspire more than few quests for balance -- or at least a fabulous bowl of linguine. show more

  • July 19, 2011 padur1212
    Report This User

    Ah, ok, a review for the movie, Eat Pray Love, \"Javier Bardem\", do I need to say any thing else??? He is gorgeous!!! And yes, its a great movie, also...lol

  • July 13, 2011 Barb
    Report This User

    I LOVE this movie. Unless you have been scorned by a man you wouldn\'t understand this movie. I laughed, I cried, I loved this movie, I have seen it 4 times and will watch it again and again.

  • December 27, 2010 checabear
    Report This User

    work eat sleep. it is amazing a actor can play someone they are not. i thought eddie murphy was a donkey and johnnie depp was a pirate. prequel coming next year for this one: work, eat,sleep everyone gets a role.

  • December 16, 2010 afeljos
    Report This User

    Eat Pray Love is annoying come on stop complaining you dumbass.

  • September 19, 2010 greatlovereviews
    Report This User

    If you’ve ever wanted to escape reality for a great adventure, go see Eat Pray Love with Julia Roberts (Liz), Billy Crudup (Stephen), James Franco (David), and Javier Bardem (Felipe). This entertaining film is based on the book by Elizabeth Gilbert, who takes a relationship timeout after a painful divorce and bad breakup to get in touch with herself. Liz’s one-year travel adventures in Italy, India and Bali offer fun reality checks and great love lessons about attracting the right kind of love. The Italian scenery is spectacular, and will take you on a Roman Holiday. Great Life Great Love is all about helping you build a Great Life to attract Great Love – and we’re happy to give you travel ideas t

  • September 16, 2010 Maryam
    Report This User

    Good?!

  • September 12, 2010 Betty
    Report This User

    What happened to my first review?? Well, again the star of this movie was the pizza in Naples. Being Italian and having visited Italy all my life, I even hated the parts that showed Italy. Italy was unfocused in the background so they could focus on making this a formula Julia move. It didnt work. the writing is bad and I was already bored 10 minutes into it. The scenes with the Italian women so bogus, where in Italy you can get even two women in the same room that speak english. As far as her journey and elightenment, what a crock, she leaves one man, goes on a journey to 3 countries, follows some cult, that doesnt respect women( enter the young women that was sold off for marriage) Only at the end to fall in the arms of yet another man. I think the lady that wrote this book is some psuedo intellect from NY, know the type. I have people in my life and even me included that have a far more interesting life.

  • September 08, 2010 hkirkhouston
    Report This User

    The was the worst Julia Roberts movie ever. She was SO not right for this role. It needed a deeeeper person to play this women and she just seemed out of place. It had some good moments but it was like sitting in an airplane and anticipating that it was going to take off on a journey any minute and then it just sits on the tarmack , over and over again. Also has a lot of eastern religion and phlosophy - that I didn't like. People going to India to find the truth?? Ahh that is the most poverty stricken, depressed, place you could go and the women are treated like property. NOT where to find God. He is available if you just ask Him to forgive you and Jesus come in your heart. THAT IS WHERE YOU FIND PEACE AND LIFE PURPOSE. Not in India where people live in misery and NEED hope.

  • September 05, 2010 Mr. Morton
    Report This User

    I liked this movie a lot more than I thought I would. You needed to live life a few times to appeiciate this movie, too. Tough movie to watch if you like action and have little patience with being still. I found it lovely to look at (great scenery in Italy, Bali, and India) and good hearted. Not just a chick flick.

  • September 05, 2010 MGAUSS77
    Report This User

    The nightmare of what an American woman can become. Completely allergic to staying in any relationship, or to work, and any money is to be used to travel for years and give away. Always depressed, always unhappy, always leaving good relationships. Long long movie. And she look old now.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X