Skip to main content

reviews

47
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 38
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    No trite, tear-jerking cliché goes undrooled in the script by director Kirk Jones. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Now comes this American version, which turns out to be the exception, an American remake that's better than the European original. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's a syrupy, downbeat film. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    De Niro's minimalist performance has maximum emotional impact and succeeds in unifying the episodic film. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Here, the actor (Di Niro) dials it down and wins us over. show more

  • 20
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A cloyingly sentimental story that rings false in every moment. show more

  • 88
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    After seeing Everybody's Fine, Paul McCartney offered to write a song that plays over the closing credits. That may be because the whole movie is like a celluloid McCartney tune: warm and playful and sweetly earnest, but lightly funny, too, and crafted with consummate skill. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    "Relief" is the word for it. It's a relief to see Robert De Niro giving an honest, effective starring performance in a project that does not stink and that, in fact, rises to a respectable level of filmmaking proficiency. How long has it been? show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    At one point, Frank contemplates a wheeled suitcase and infuses in that one moment the sweetness and vulnerability of E.T. See Everybody's Fine, but one piece of advice: Phone home first. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The movie works because so much of what's on screen will resonate with viewers. show more

  • June 19, 2011 evarb69
    Report This User

    BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO - three time Over! touches the HEART. touches the SOUL. touches the Lives of each of us!

  • March 28, 2011 buddy20112011
    Report This User

    Everybody was bored - felt like a documentary on bad acting. Bad Deniro. Bad!

  • November 02, 2010 Echerry2012
    Report This User

    Horrible waste of time. It was slow the entire time and never got better.

  • April 29, 2010 Debbee2025
    Report This User

    Almost didn'******* it because it seemed to be one of those silly comedies. I decided one day to watch it, for lack of something to to do and I can't tell you how wonderfully surprised I was. I feel cleansed!!! Thank you for such a great movie. I have passed it on to everyone I know!

  • January 13, 2010 jlrwholesale
    Report This User

    Touches the heart. Bravo!!!!!!

  • December 29, 2009 wlparadise
    Report This User

    New movie title should read " LIARS and LOSERS" complete disappointment. We even discussed it with AMC movie employees as we left... they all agreed that the movie trailers and teasers did not accurately depict the movie you were about to see.........Robert was a failure in life -- a "sometimes" drummer who told his father he was a conductor... The other son was a drug addict-- and DEAD... maybe if they weren't such a secretive lying bunch they may have been saved by their fathers help... All FAAKED up. I give it one star -- because De Niro was in it... and he IS a star.

  • December 15, 2009 abiele7000
    Report This User

    Great Movie. Its' for older teens and adults only. I am a father of 3 ********************* 21. Good father's wants good things for their Children, When something goes wrong for any of them, it is often the father who hurts a lot more than the child. And we care about them and the role we play in their lives; did we get them a good education, give them a good set of values to live by, have we prepared them enough for the real world, are they marrying the right person. Have we done too little or too much for our children, It's a very fine balance that is all too easy to tip. It's lucky for me that I delved into this raising topic before marriage and had sources such as the books of Christian Psyhcologist James Dobson. And still I wonder if I'm helping them or failing them. This movie really touched me in a very big way. I almost had a heart attack watching it. It renewed all my concerns and fears.

  • December 15, 2009 DC14r
    Report This User

    all in all very good, great acting by Deniro, story is a little drawn out, but worth it...

  • December 13, 2009 asarnel
    Report This User

    This is a good movie for all to see. I give it four stars!

  • December 12, 2009 The Elliott's
    Report This User

    Good family movie if you can drag your teens to see it. Little ones, no thank you. Bring the tissues as you follow the life of Bob DeNiro through out the entire movie. Well cast and interesting portrayal of today's family.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X