Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 39 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Hot Tub Time Machine should have been better than this. It could have been poignant. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Most of its screenplay is far too vulgar to recount. To paraphrase Mary McCarthy, every word is an obscenity, including "and" and "the." show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    For hilarity, characterization and clever structure, "The Hangover" is far superior. Still, there are some laughs in this uneven but good-natured raunchfest. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    How bad must a movie be to be good fun? How dumb to be smart? (Or, in the case of "Dumb and Dumber," how pretend-dumb to be surpassingly smart?) Whatever the case, Hot Tub Time Machine doesn't make the cut. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    If time and space hooked up and got so hammered that they staggered beyond inebriation into delirium, the result would be Hot Tub Time Machine. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    In Rob Corddry's hilariously manic turn, it has the most memorable showcase for a goofball co-star since Michael Keaton in 1981's "Night Shift." show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A loud, disjointed and not terribly funny comedy, which probably is what one expects with a title like that. The unfortunate thing is, it didn't need to be. show more

  • 70
    NPR

    Admirably turns a potentially one-note joke into a consistently funny package. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Accomplishes what "Snakes on a Plane" did not: It offers a merrily idiotic movie to go with its willfully idiotic title. show more

  • 88
    Premiere

    Why John Cusack stopped doing this kind of movie remains one of the late-20th century’s great mysteries. Teaming him with contemporary comic vanguards Corrdry and Robinson is equal parts welcome and unexpected as the three relive the social, sexual, and Soviet fears of the era. show more

  • September 14, 2010 gucci15atSKOOL
    Report This User

    very awesome movie, bought it as a dvd and bluray, if you havent seen it, your on some special pill!!!

  • July 30, 2010 Paul Preister
    Report This User

    it was halarious but also the dumbest thing ever. i loved it

  • July 12, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Teen aged level comedy,Should appeal to teenagers and to adults that are like teenagers. Silly, tasteless, and often gross comedy. Similar to Hangover, so if you loved Hangover you will at least like Hot tub Time Machine. Some will rate it 5 stars, others 1 star.

  • July 09, 2010 packers4lif
    Report This User

    Funny as hell and yes FUNNIER than "The Hangover "

  • July 05, 2010 MoJOgONzo44
    Report This User

    i didnt find it as funny than most people did. it didnt make much sense how it became a time machine

  • June 24, 2010 atnmy
    Report This User

    i thought it was really funny. tons of swears and sex scenes but hey, do you expect more from a movie called hot tub time machine?

  • April 22, 2010 afeljos
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE IS THE FUNNIEST THING I EVER SEEN. ITS WAY BETTER THAN THE STUPID HANGOVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • April 21, 2010 Sweetie2505
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was okay...not the best comedy ever, but fun and entertaining to watch. I didn't realize how much gross stuff they would have (i.e puking scenes, etc. yuck!)...but luckily I'm not that squeamish. The F-bomb was thrown in there ever chance they got, which I didn't mind, but I can't say the same for the friend who I saw it with. It def. bothered her a bit. Overall, fun to go watch if you have nothing to do...don't know if I would pay for it though (I saw it on free movie Tuesdays). I loved the ending!

  • April 19, 2010 bfg305
    Report This User

    My wife and I almost did not see this movie- the title is so strange and it had the sound of a real looser movie that you regret seeing. We took a chance and could not stop laughing. Implauusible, crazy, stupid ridiculous plot, and funny as hell. Somehow it all worked and yes it is crude and low brow but in the same way that Harold and Kumar go to White Castle was but you will have a great time and really get your moneys worth because if you like comedy. it is genuinely hysterical. It has a sophmoric quality that makes you feel really bad that you can't stop laughing because you should if you are older, I mean the humor is so low brow- but you still just can't stop as its LOL good. I can't wait for it to come out on DVD if I don't end up seeing it again with some friends.

  • April 18, 2010 klmoore220
    Report This User

    I thought it was really really horrible. Trying to be like "the Hangover", which was truly funny. This movie was just stupid and obnoxious and a waste of time and money. It sucked.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X