Skip to main content

reviews

79
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 28 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Reeves plugs in a live wire to play Abby, the girl vampire who's been 12 for, well, a very long time. That would be Chloë Grace Moretz, an acting dynamo (see Kick-Ass) whose mesmerizing performance goes deep. show more

  • 75
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    Although this one indulges in unnecessary CGI enhancements, it's still a striking piece of character-driven horror, and it ranks among the more understated fright fests to hit the mainstream in recent memory. show more

  • 88
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    Let Me In is going to lure and please fans of the original; like the first, the remake is graphically violent but as tense as good horror gets. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This is more than a respectful remake; Let Me In is quietly stylish and thoroughly chilling in its own right. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's a heartbreaker of a coming-of-age tale, even if there's a string of exsanguinated corpses to be accounted for. show more

  • 100
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Director Matt Reeves (who also made the much rawer "Cloverfield") so deeply understands the nature of childhood terror that Let Me In burns with a white-hot clarity. show more

  • 100
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Key to the remake's ultimate success is the casting of the troubled young leads.Smit-McPhee and Moretz possess the soulful depth and pre-adolescent vulnerability necessary to keep it compellingly real. show more

  • 60
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    The deliberate pace may suggest that the film is being thoughtful, but Let Me In is really just an exploitation movie with the confidence to take it slow. show more

  • 85
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Let Me In is a chilly little story set in a very cold place. But Reeves still knows when to go for the burn. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Those hoping to see a "vampire movie" will be surprised by a good film. show more

  • January 18, 2012 DUNCANSMOM
    Report This User

    This was a very cool movie. Not a childs version of a vampire movie. The kids in it were awesome, enough gore for the hardcore vampire lovers. It really left you pondiering the idea of what friendship really means.

  • December 04, 2011 seanspec
    Report This User

    coolest movie in a long time. Way better than the twilight crap.

  • July 07, 2011 magneticalpet
    Report This User

    Awesomely thrilling. Only those words can describe it. Once you see a bit of it, you can never stop. It\'s so attractive and the actors are amazing. The perfect actors to be chosen for this thrilling film. Matt Reeves is an extraordinary director and every bit of the movie has been made perfect by his instructions. I could say more but I don\'t know how to write it down so I\'ll leave it here.

  • February 08, 2011 Movie Dissection
    Report This User

    Very well cast and illustrated Movie. Great depiction of a great story. Very fascinating to watch young characters grow and become successful. All around good movie and has a very uexpected story.

  • December 11, 2010 michmwou
    Report This User

    crazy movie

  • November 22, 2010 malkavsknight
    Report This User

    Brilliantly done, just as good, if not better than "Let the Right One In".

  • October 20, 2010 jamesjowens1
    Report This User

    I really enjoyed this movie! Just scarey enough with decent story line. Very eerie at times and very sweet also.The kids are adorable in it. I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good story and scarey suspense.

  • October 16, 2010 pj323jp
    Report This User

    I don't often see thriller movies so I was surprised, how well conceived and produced this one was. The exposition was slow and even though the plot was predictable the characters seemed almost real, not the typical air heads who often lose their's in such movies. This is not to say that I enjoyed the story or the genre. It's too disturbing for me, not what I look for in entertainment. Nonetheless, if your a fan of thriller movies, this one's for you!

  • October 15, 2010 jasonvh69
    Report This User

    TMVance128...is an idiot. Why would you take kids to an R rated movie about a Vampire. Great parenting. Freaking morons out there. With that said the movie was great. You might want to leave your kids at home unless you want them to turn out like TMVance128

  • October 10, 2010 TMVance128
    Report This User

    O.K after it was over I sat there thinking that was a really weird movie. Parents it is definetly not for younger kids unless they are used to hearing the Fbomb every few sentences and it did show a womans naked breast. The actor thay played in Percy Jackson it was strange hearing that cussing coming out of his mouth thru out the movie. Other than seeing blood and blood on the young 12 year old characters mouth it wasn't scary. You don't see fangs and when she has to attack someone its like she hops around on them like a spider. Could tell it was so fake. It was an o. k movie but not as good as I had expected. I

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X