Skip to main content

reviews

60
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Our Idiot Brother comes off as a blueprint for a smart script no one really made. Now that's what I call dumb. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Easily could have been mildly funny and phony but instead is really funny and true to life. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Watching Rudd bring dimension to what could have been a clownish caricature is the best reason to see this good-natured family comedy. show more

  • 70
    John Anderson Wall Street Journal

    Goofily funny, and silly, and in many ways follows the currents of contemporary comedy into the gulf stream of inanity. And yet Ned turns out to be a strangely moving figure, a comic foil worthy of affection, perhaps even respect. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    While this hugely likable cast is, indeed, hugely likable, no one's sweating things at all. The comedy's relaxed, moony rhythms imbue it with a certain charm, but can result in a certain stop-and-start awkwardness, too. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Despite a pleasantly laid-back demeanor, you wish it would just get focused. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Shambles along with all the purposefulness of its title character, a kind of near-beer Lebowski who's neither reckless enough to cheer for nor misguided enough to disdain. show more

  • 70
    Bob Mondello NPR

    The rhythms are gentle, the smiles plentiful, the chuckles frequent, with the overall effect about as pleasantly innocuous as the film's hero. show more

  • 70
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    It's the kind of movie whose value lies between the lines, not directly on them, and if the pleasures it offers are slender ones, at least there's something good-hearted about them. show more

  • 88
    Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Our Idiot Brother is smart entertainment. show more

  • December 05, 2011 yy00000000107432
    Report This User

    I wish I could have given this one a half a star. Horiible movie, I like some chic flicks but this one oozed with estrogen. Yuck.

  • November 30, 2011 uo00000000107148
    Report This User

    not that good...

  • November 17, 2011 kn00000000091528
    Report This User

    I would say this IS something you could take your kids to (13+) and that is why I didn\'t like it. I was expecting more of a raunchy Paul Rudd flick and this is not that. This reminds me more of the movie \'Grown Ups\' or \"The Dilemma\&************ more of a feel-good dramedy with a cast of actors I like from other movies, but I felt none of their roles were all that believable in this film. I saw this film with two other people and I probably liked it the most compared to what my friends thought. I sat through the whole thing, so I give this movie 2 stars.

  • September 19, 2011 radbonz
    Report This User

    Silly I liked it. Could have been better.

  • September 18, 2011 aq00000000102035
    Report This User

    This is the worst movie! I previously read a review saying you can take kids to this movie. Not at all, the \"F\" word is used frequently, nudity and just overall stupidity!!

  • September 17, 2011 foney372
    Report This User

    i would usually trust that indie comedies with zooey deschenal and paul rudd are going to be excellent and become a fan favorite, but there was a problem with this one. the humour was cute, the indie style was well subtled, the acting was descent, but there was a missing piece to the puzzle....and i don\'t think anyone knew....not even the filmmakers.

  • September 13, 2011 ashleynicolex34
    Report This User

    Was excited to see this movie, watched it and it was absolutely HORRIBLE. One of Paul Rudd\'s worst movies! Extremely disappointed.

  • September 13, 2011 cwsnhri
    Report This User

    Worth the time......barely

  • September 11, 2011 nanaelyse
    Report This User

    Just one more disgusting, indecent movie. It is frightening that Americans would pay one cent to see trash such as this. Are there no good writers in Hollywood or are the very few good Americans living in our country today?

  • September 06, 2011 bspencerwt
    Report This User

    Are you kidding??!! Nothing even remotely funny, Very poor movie!!!!

`

similar movies

  • Humpday (2009)

  • Due Date (2010)

  • Clerks (1994)

  • I Love You, Man (2009)

  • Don Jon (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X