Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 131 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Marshall deserves props for putting the "show" back into the Pirates business. But face it, he's polishing a giant turd. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    This isn't absurdity. This is nonsense - and it's as boring as nonsense. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Here's how it goes down: 4 is better than 3, about the same as 2 and worse than 1. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The IMAX print I saw was so murky as to make you give thanks for the few scenes shot in simple sunlight, the 3-D wasn't worth the bother, and never before have I wanted to chloroform an entire orchestra. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Frankly, the wow factor isn't that great. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Despite Sparrow's ongoing flashes of charm, Depp himself seems to know he's coasting. show more

  • 70
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    Captain Jack Sparrow is back in excellent form for his fourth adventure in Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, which is more serious in the hands of a new director, Rob Marshall, and thanks to Penelope Cruz it's also a good deal sexier. show more

  • 40
    Bob Mondello NPR

    Small kids won't really appreciate Johnny Depp, either, though frankly he's getting to be less fun as the series ages, possibly realizing that what's riskiest in Pirates 4 isn't walking the plank, but jumping the shark. show more

  • 65
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    The picture is cluttered and convoluted and big, and Marshall - taking over the reins from Gore Verbinski - doesn't seem to grasp how exhausting nonstop action can be. show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    On Stranger Tides feels as fresh and bracingly exhilarating as the day Jack Sparrow first swashed his buckle. show more

  • November 10, 2012 pharaoh43
    Report This User

    I watched the Pirates of the Caribbean already it was awesome !!!!! we loved it ! it was the best movie.,,,,,, K,Vincent.

  • February 05, 2012 Dry Master
    Report This User

    I didn't like the movie at all and got bored very easily. You can tell Mr. Depp is tired of his role and hates having to dress up in that costume thousands of times. I miss Will Turner and his girl and wish the series ended At Worlds End.

  • January 12, 2012 drcodered
    Report This User

    well we rented this movie and thought iit was great just high flying fun for the entire family and we all realy enjoyed it so mutch wish there were more moies out there like this on just all around fun and a good time what mroe could you want from it than that

  • January 09, 2012 Bettcha_I_Will
    Report This User

    what can i say ,,, it`s Mr. Depp!!

  • December 12, 2011 Cathy
    Report This User

    Loved the 4th movie! I want to see more of Syrena & Phillip!

  • December 03, 2011 gloriaaddeum
    Report This User

    My family and I enjoyed this movie, though we didn't see it in theatres because the 3rd Pirates was so ridiculous, absurd and offensive in its bashing of Western civilization, (represented by the British Navy and the East India Company). But this movies shunned political correctness to return to the escapist fun of "The Curse of the Black Pearl," the best of the series. It had two very enjoyable surprise twists near the end that we didn't see coming! Of course, the music is unbeatable, and really helps deliver audience satisfaction. That said, here are the negatives: the character with the deep, authentic relationship to God gave that up for a relationship with a half-woman-half-fish, a decision with which the geniuses @ Disney obviously thought the audience would sympathize! At other times, the movie seems to self-parody, when the characters are looking for something, e.g., ships on the horizon, they turn around, and the ships are right off the port bow! This happened with at least 3 "searches," with the searched-for item- (once, the item was a mountainside)- being upon them immediately after they are unable to see it. But the movie moves so fast, these goofy transitions are laughable, but not annoying. King George is played by the standard Peter Ustinov wannabe, but the portrayal is passable-- though the actual King George would have had quite an accent, since his English was marginal. He spoke French as a child, then German. Probably only historians and homeschoolers would notice this. Another negative: the unnecessary and voyeuristic pubescent-male-type focus on women's mammary glands so common in modern movies. Overall, this movie is a tremendous improvement over the 2nd and 3rd Pirates, and is more in keeping with the actual character of the historical characters that are portrayed (such as, the Spanish aristocracy.) Folks on Blockbuster.com are saying "I liked it, but make no more of this series." I don't agree with that. If more Pirates movies are made of this calibre, or better, I would enjoy seeing them.

  • December 01, 2011 Bill H
    Report This User

    Typical Depp, Jack Sparrow NUTSO pirate flick that really has no beginning or end. The entire cast is hilarious and hammed so far out it is funnier than if someone tried to do it straight. I watch these movies for the absolute child in me. I laugh and giggle like a seven year old at all the silly background stuff. Ms Cruz supported well but, could have been a little looser. I would have liked sillier. To me she dragged most scenes down a bit. All in all, for a silly \"Sparrow\" rules the seas film It was as good as always and as silly.

  • August 26, 2011 D O N N A
    Report This User

    Outstanding!!! Never disappointed in the pirates. Keep\'em coming.

  • August 19, 2011 Pussycat
    Report This User

    It was a very enjoyabul movie it had everyone in the theather laughing at times.

  • August 14, 2011 fieldhockeymvpxo
    Report This User

    AMAZING. I LOVE JOHNNY DEPP.

`

similar movies

  • Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)

  • Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (2007)

  • Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest (2006)

  • Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008)

  • Stardust (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X