Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 128 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    It delivers the popcorn goods, but it ignores the poison eating at Bond's insides. Killer mistake. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    After the heights of "Casino Royale," the series falls back into routine with this above-average thriller, filled with over-the-top action, familiar Bond atmosphere and a story that's impossible to follow - and why bother anyway? Daniel Craig is still the coolest man in the universe. That definitely helps. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The stunts are as muscular and the film as handsome to look at as the hero who so ably pulls them off. But the story linking it all together is thin and weak. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A model of mediocrity. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Never less than engaging. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The result isn't bland, but it's not exactly Bond either. show more

  • 80
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    The new picture allows hardly any flourishes of style and character in the 007 tradition, but moviegoers seeking an adrenaline rush will be well pleased. show more

  • 100
    Premiere

    Quantum, thanks to a deft blend of exotic escapism and bare-bones modernism, is more than strong enough to be judged on its own. In fact, it's the perfect Bond film. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Revenge is a dish best served with bullets, high explosives and giant rolling flameballs. In Quantum of Solace, James Bond orders the revenge buffet, deluxe. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The way it's shot and cut, it plays like a parody of a car commercial shot in the style of a Bond film. show more

  • July 17, 2011 dbfplsp
    Report This User

    Both Bond movies with Craig were filled with action above and beyond previous Bond movies. Though Craig is not my favorite Bond I think the two movies are far better than some of the previous voter\'s views.

  • December 21, 2010 scarvesff
    Report This User

    Thank you for the entertainment

  • September 28, 2009 Wmac212
    Report This User

    To me the movie was inferior to Casino Royale. So if you want to see my review of the movie. Type Casino Royale. I give it 2 and a half stars out of 5.

  • March 03, 2009 Paul Preister
    Report This User

    really good. by far the best 007!!!

  • February 24, 2009 MSkeie
    Report This User

    Regarding the Oscars, I thought Hugh Jackman was the best emcee we have ever had - he was charming, talented and the Oscars had a new flair, thanks to him. I have an opposite feelng on almost every category in your Oscars re-cap - you guys are way off base.

  • January 04, 2009 Skateride37
    Report This User

    I thought it was good i would give it a 7 out of 10. althought it was disapointing because the one before ot was just so good. yes the action scenes were great but they felt to much like the Bournie movie. but i got to give them creadit for the first james bond sequal it was good. the plot was weak and the bad guy just was not a good james bond bad guy and would have worded a whole lolt better if it was one of piers's bad guy because he was just to weak for craig.i did liked it though and i do think that craig does better than piers, alot better. i hope the next one is alittle better

  • January 03, 2009 mattsci
    Report This User

    Whether you leave a Bond film feeling satisfied or stymied, one thing has always been certain about the dashing Brit portraying the world's greatest secret-agent: Gadgets, one-liners, and martinis (shaken, not stirred). It has always been certain, relatively speaking, until the reveal of Quantum of Solace, director Marc Forester's (Monster's Ball) attempt at shaking up the industry. In this somewhat revamped, and seemingly prequel-esque film, Daniel Craig portrays a 007 unknown to most followers of the past 40+ years. Gone are Q's famous gadgets which usually riddle a Bond film and added are some much more thrill-ride action sequences, albeit still the same head-shaking 'how did he survive that' moments. Gone also is the trademark 'Shaken, not stirred' comment, lines left to a male flight attendant. Gone is the constant seduction of a female co-star, a former staple of past films. I am not sure how to comment on the lack of the above Bond features from the past, because this film stands alone as a decent action thriller filled with a discernable plot, packed action, some romance, and an intriguing twist on Bond's emotional state. I just don't know if it is a Bond film without all the bells and whistles. Craig does a very good job (better than Casino Royale) at bringing out the deep states of emotion a double agent must seemingly go through all the time, and it comes through well on the big screen. Here lies a distinct difference from former Bond films, in that the usually focused character who hits on the secretary with a charming one-liner and saunters off to the spa in search of a masseuse, all the while carrying a gun close to his hip ready to take on the bad guy around the corner, is now replaced by a darker version of this character of the past, one who thinks of revenge and kill first, rather than detaining for information. The dark issues Craig struggles with stem from the loss of his love and the resulting revenge he seeks, but somehow it all seems very much like a stand-alone action film (a decent one at that) but not a Bond film. I am quite sure viewers will leave this film with the satisfaction that their money was not wasted, but also with a vague sense of being cheated.

  • January 01, 2009 KcAmerica
    Report This User

    forgot to give it a rating. Sorry

  • December 24, 2008 maldas84
    Report This User

    kicked butt... action packed. I really liked it

  • December 19, 2008 Thomasswinney
    Report This User

    I loved this movie even though I havent seen it yet..

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X