Skip to main content

reviews

69
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Dull title for a juicy, fact-based caper movie that's full of surprises I have no intention of spoiling. show more

  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A brisk, entertaining crime thriller. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Imagine a blend of "Snatch," "Ocean's 11" and "The Italian Job." Then juxtapose the staples of the caper genre with real events involving national security and high-level corruption, and the result is The Bank Job. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The Bank Job engages us fully with a tale that's well-fashioned more than anything else, a fascinating study of morality at several levels of English society, and of honor, or the lack of it, among implausibly likable thieves. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Feels both absolutely of the 1970s and absolutely fresh. show more

  • 60
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    A slow-paced and often confusingly plotted crime drama that never lives up to the delicious potential of its premise. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Slick, ice-cold and enjoyable, The Bank Job is a bit of all right. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Jason Statham, possibly the greatest B-movie leading man of this era, stars in a complicated and clever imagining of what might have happened in the mysterious 1971 London bank heist dubbed the "Walkie-Talkie Robbery" - in other words, it was unbelievably high-tech. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    A surprisingly tight, clever, twisty heist tale. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    A heist movie in the classic tradition - it details every aspect of the caper, from its genesis to its aftermath. The fact that there's political intrigue and espionage swirling around the edges only makes it more fascinating. show more

  • February 18, 2010 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    Not bad but not *********** just ok. I think it's worth renting.

  • July 26, 2008 sheila
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME, I LOVED EVERY BIT OF IT. IT WAS WELL BUT TOGEHTER AND HAD A OUTSTANDING CAST!

  • May 22, 2008 asarnel
    Report This User

    I loved the movie and I would tell all of you to see it. The beginning is dry but the best ending of any movie and the movie itself, was great!!

  • May 22, 2008 greatartAZ
    Report This User

    A little on the gritty side, but very enjoyable movie.

  • May 22, 2008 LORDESTROYER
    Report This User

    Loved it, loved it, loved it!!! Man, I really dig a good bank robbery movie and this one is at the top of the list! Excellent casting, and not a dull minute throughout! Superb with enough action to keep you on your seat without overblowing it and making a fool of itself. Lots of chacters to follow which keeps you engrossed in the personalities and forces you to think to keep up...which is a good thing! GO SEE IT!!!!!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 batcastle
    Report This User

    Loved it!

  • May 22, 2008 laxattack9cwl
    Report This User

    This was a great movie with a great story! The best part was that it all really happened. It kept you on the edge of your seat. The beginning was a little hard to follow but it all clears up. This is definitely worth your time and money. It's kind of like a more realistic version of The Italian Job. If you liked that movie you'll love this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 tattertale
    Report This User

    The movie was hot. The plot was great. Loved the actors. It's a must see. Statham is hot.

  • May 22, 2008 mdrep1
    Report This User

    This was a great movie.....not like some of the crap coming out of Hollywood lately. I was a teenager when this happened so I understood a little more...had to explain some of it to my 15 yr old son. But it was really a good story, well done, very well acted, and extremely entertaining..worth seeing....just one warning..if you're bringing young teens, there's nudity in 3 -4 scenes, but other than that no gruesome violence or bad language......go see this one.....

  • May 22, 2008 nuskyna
    Report This User

    Excellent Movie - starts off a little like a B movie but quickly gets better, and better, and better until the end that is fantatic. On a scale of 1 to 10 - a solid 8 or 9.Go see it - you will enjoy - not for kids.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X