Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 18 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Despite a shaky framework, the magic works. It's a chance to see Ledger one last time in the act of doing what he loved. Take it. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The film ends up landing in a confused middle category. It's neither a coherent, discrete work nor a zany tribute to the late actor. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Though rambling and at times self-indulgent, its wit and pageantry, boosted by Heath Ledger's final performance, render it irresistible. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Vintage Terry Gilliam, a pour not to all tastes but one certain to please lovers of "Time Bandits" and "The Adventures of Baron Munchausen." show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    "Parnassus," while not unwatchable, is also an elephantine mess. show more

  • 60
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    The film is neither intelligent enough nor silly or grotesque enough to become a lasting favorite. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is an Imaginarium indeed. The best approach is to sit there and let it happen to you; see it in the moment and not with long-term memory, which seems to be what Parnassus does. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The Depp sequence is especially poignant, apparently rewritten with references to other celebrities who died before their time -- Rudolph Valentino, James Dean and Princess Di -- and who will remain "forever young" in our imaginations. show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    Shot through with a bold, extravagant generosity of spirit, this journey behind the literal and figurative looking glass marks a gratifying return to form for Gilliam. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    In short, “Imaginarium’’ is a Terry Gilliam movie and it’s a mess, which over the years have come to mean much the same thing. It’s one of his better messes, though, or at least this critic was won over by its ramshackle whimsies. show more

  • September 19, 2010 edapsetak212
    Report This User

    I did not get this movie at all! I kept waiting for something to happen & for it to get better! It was a psychadelic trip of a movie and I was sober! The only thing that kept me watching till the end is the eye candy of the movie (Johnny Depp & Jude Law).

  • June 13, 2010 stacey
    Report This User

    the special effects where pretty good but the acting and story line was rather boring and complicated (british, need i say more), i did get it but it was like too much nonsense and not enough serious acting. i got it on pay per view for $5 and still wish i'd saved the $5 and waited for it to hit regular tv. take my advise, you won't have to wait long, save your hard earned money and catch it on fx or usa channel (for example) you'll be glad you did and it will be uncut as it is a clean movie.

  • March 04, 2010 DmerClone
    Report This User

    I have loved most of Terry Gilliam's movies, but The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus is a lurching, lumbering, near incoherent mess. There are bits that are dazzling visually and Tom Waits as the Devil was a great choice, but I just wish Gilliam had spent more time coming up with a decent script. I never understood just what the bets were about, what the Imaginarium was supposed to be, or anything else that was going on. Hopefully no one will remember that this was Heath Ledger's last role,

  • February 05, 2010 djxs03
    Report This User

    Fabulous movie. Kept me entertained from beginning to end. It made you think a bit, so for those folks who like movies that need no questioning from its viewers, this one's not for you.

  • February 01, 2010 bfthills
    Report This User

    I'm a huge Tom Waits fan, but I just couldn't get into this movie. I think it's one of those films that will not withstand the test of time. One really needs to use their own imagination to understand Terry Gillam's world.

  • January 22, 2010 Ben
    Report This User

    It was ok had some plot flows like what really made these woman all of the sudden decide to see the imaginarium besides Tony. And i hated Collin Farrel at the end he almost killed the movie Heath ledger and Johnny Depp were awesome and Tom Waits as Mr. Nick/Devil was the best actor of this all simply a great job as a British industrialist devil who keeps doing his bets

  • January 21, 2010 RbpJsa
    Report This User

    Fly14 sounds good, but I just 20 minutes ******* around with offers i had to fill out to registar. I said forget it after awhile. Be prepared to sell youe soul if you go there.

  • January 17, 2010 absolutadons
    Report This User

    I wished I had some acid for this film. I enjoyed it but needed to be more drawn in. I'm glad I dropped my car off for service and went to the theatre to see this film. This is not Avatar but the effects are very cool.

  • January 17, 2010 gy00000000012227
    Report This User

    This is truly an incredibly movie that anyone with an imagination will enjoy. Visually stunning, with incredible acting and a magnificent motley crew of characters, this movie is by far one of Terry Gilliam's best movies to date.That are times when you really feel as though you are watching a real life version of one of his iconic Monty Python sketches. With a touching dose of humanity, and a generous portion of madness, this is one of those movie's you NEED to see on the big screen.

  • January 14, 2010 Lin
    Report This User

    I thoroughly enjoyed the film. I thought the interplay with the different actors was well done. A typical pick for Heath Ledger. He never chose a film to be famous, he just wanted to play the part to the best of his ability.

`

similar movies

  • Big Fish (2003)

  • Rise of the Planet of the Apes (2011)

  • Godzilla (2014)

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

  • Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X