Skip to main content

reviews

60
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 57 )
  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    The film is stylishly shot, although the current action-movie look might be dated in a few years. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Can't seem to decide whether it wants to be an edge-of-the-seat action thriller or a more contemplative and intellectual drama about religion and terrorism. Somehow, in trying to have it both ways, it doesn't completely succeed at either. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    Ultimately, Traitor is a movie at war with itself. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Don Cheadle, wiry and wired, delivers an electrifying performance in Traitor. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Nachmanoff fills the movie with a sense of gripping, '70s-style grittiness that helps undercut the web-of-evil tone. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film is a genuinely gripping tale about international terrorism that hopscotches across three continents. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie proceeds quickly, seems to know its subject matter, is fascinating in its portrait of the inner politics and structure of the terrorist group, and comes uncomfortably close to reality. But what holds it together is the Cheadle character. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Problems aside, this is a good, twisty, absorbing work. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The best end-of-August movie I've seen in years. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The film's greatest asset is its performances. show more

  • May 26, 2009 Bman31590
    Report This User

    I'm not sure why this movie recieved so much criticism and such low grades. Granted, it is not a popcorn flick for the masses, nor was it intended to be. This is an extremely smart film that takes a different perspective than others of its kind and it keeps you guessing throughout the duration about what will happen and even what side Don Cheadle is actually on. In fact, Cheadle, as always, gave a great performance and deserves praise for it.

  • September 28, 2008 Adam
    Report This User

    This is a very realistic and well done movie. It is a thriller and actioned packed. It should have received more promotion than what it did and Cheadle should get an oscar for his performance. This is a movie that all Americans should watch to remind us of what we have to be thankful for and the sacrifices that are made to protect our way of life. 5 stars!

  • September 26, 2008 BiTeThIs4695
    Report This User

    One of the WORST movies I've seen. its super long and you feel like it never ends. i had to leave 30 mins before it ended. No wonder the theater was emtpy

  • September 21, 2008 Mrs.Cohen
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. I thought it was very riveting and very real. Giving you a view of how the muslim world think sabut us Americans. I would see this again!

  • September 15, 2008 LAWoodTom
    Report This User

    This was GREAT! Can't say enough good things about it. I saw a bunch of movies this past week and this is one was by far the best of them! Don Cheadle is the man for sure and Guy Pearce was good as always.

  • September 14, 2008 RyancallabraziT1
    Report This User

    I saw "Traitor" this Sunday afternoon...I saw "Righteous Kill" Friday night..I saw "Burn After Reading" Saturday night....This film? Is 10 times BETTER than BOTh "Burn" and "Righteous Kill" combined! The only reason those other two probably will make more money in box office is because of "overrated" actors like Pitt, Clooney, DeNiro and Pacino (and YES even these two guys have had DOG films, including "Righteous Kill" now)....Don Cheadle was amazing and makes those guys look like amateurs to be honest. This story has a good plot, veyr good acting, intrigue, moves quickly and keeps your interest. It makes you think too and is very current topical. GO SEE THIS and SKIP those other two because they were not as good as all the hype behind them!

  • September 13, 2008 Scott
    Report This User

    The moral of this story is that there's such a thing as a good Muslim. Unusual theme for a movie. Still, had some entertainment value. Wasn't too bad.

  • September 13, 2008 MaryanneLC1001
    Report This User

    Saw 3 movies so far this weekend (won't name the other two all I will say is they both just opened on Friday and were pretty disappointing). The third one I saw just this afternoon was "Traitor" and just one thing to say...GREAT! I really liked this film! It was the surprise "sleeper" movie for me this weekend (my boyfriend knew more about it than I did going in and he sort of "dragged" me along). Why didn't this movie get more promotion than all the others? Can't say enough good things about it. Story, acting, drama, intrigue....it had it all for me.. Big thumbs up hope more people check it out.

  • September 11, 2008 Amourdecinema
    Report This User

    What a terrific film! So well-acted and very currently topical. Like the previous reviewer said, I agree that everyone should go see this, especially because of the current world we now live in. Don Cheadle and Guy Pearce were superb and the story very relevant...scary relevant even. This is probably the best film I've seen all summer next to "The Dark Knight" and I highly recommend it!

  • September 11, 2008 BlackBarbie325
    Report This User

    I really loved this movie. It got me thinking. Actually made me a little nervous. But I thought it was well written, directed and superbly acted. I recommend everyone to go see it and it's definitely an adult movie which I love. I'm so tired of the target audience being a 12 year old boy ;) Love you Mr. Cheadle!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X