Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 14 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 35 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    There are a few laughs and some touching moments, but nothing you couldn't get by watching episodes of "Good Times" and "Little House on the Prairie" back to back. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    The playwright, actor, director and drag queen (yes, his bewigged and be wild Madea makes a brief and totally gratuitous appearance in his new film) knows how to give human dimension, and a dimension of humor, to the cliches and stereotypes. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Many of the cast members originated their roles onstage, and the ensemble scenes capture the spirited sense of fun that is Perry's trademark. show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Features a fine performance by Angela Bassett, but her work is the sole subtle element. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The women of Perry's army will come out feeling they've been well-served, and for the rest of us there's Bassett, getting her groove back after a spate of less than worthy roles. Perry's getting his groove, too - I give him two more films and an A-list cameraman. show more

  • 50
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Perry's methods are never subtle, but no contemporary filmmaker works harder to make sure ribs are tickled and tears are jerked. show more

  • 30
    Marjorie Baumgarten Austin Chronicle

    Perry tosses everything at his disposal into his movie gumbo, even a completely gratuitous appearance by his signature, self-performed, alter-ego in drag Madea – most likely to set up the premise for his next film "Madea Goes to Jail." show more

  • 67
    Lisa Schwarzbaum Entertainment Weekly

    The importance of faith, church, kin, staying off drugs, sharing food, repenting from sin, forgiving sinners, appreciating a good black man, rejecting a bad one, and honoring black matriarchy is enumerated with typical, reassuring Perry broadness. show more

  • 60
    A.O. Scott The New York Times

    What he serves up -- a mixture of moralism and forgiveness, semibawdy humor and cautionary drama, mockery and affection -- may sometimes lack coherence, but never integrity. show more

  • 60
    Joe Leydon Variety

    Often plays more like "Tyler Perry's Greatest Hits" as it recycles various elements from the writer-director's earlier works. show more

  • July 02, 2008 Keynuh
    Report This User

    This was the worst of all films...Your RIPPING YOUR TRUE FANS OFF TYLER.. Im tired of hearing the jokes in YOUR plays then hear them again in YOUR movieS...majority of your film was not 2008black folks REALITY but mayb 1990....yes as a single mom i struggle but if my baby daddy had a job paying 25hr HE WILL PAY CHILD SUPPORT!!! u threw this film together tyler with most of the scenes reacted from your play WHATS DONE IN THE DARK

  • June 21, 2008 Velcuestas
    Report This User

    I have enojyed everthing by Tyler Perry, he's down to earth and relates with all people. I especially enjoy Madea.

  • May 22, 2008 Kathy
    Report This User

    Not funny at all!!!! Tyler Perry films are usually good but this one was really bad!!!! This is the worst he has ever come up with!!

  • May 22, 2008 Stephanie Agnew
    Report This User

    There are so many bad movies on the screen right now that I am happy to say I enjoyed this movie.I am a fan of Tyler Perry and I can honestly say if I dont know what movie to go see I cant go wrong with one of his films.It had a nice story and characters you can like and dislike.Its good for a date movie or just a movie that you need to get out of the house and see a movie type film.I enjoyed the movie bottom line.I have made many bad reviews lately so its nice to have something nice to say about a movie.Go see Meet the Browns!

  • May 22, 2008 abbyree
    Report This User

    I love Tyler's message in this movie (((((BUT)))) I need to see and hear "Madea" to get me through these loooonnnggg days. I will ALWAYS be a Tyler Perry's Fan Forever!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 wdarryl118
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was not the best WORK from tyler perry!

  • May 22, 2008 hionllfe
    Report This User

    Here is another bomb of a movie. You would think by now that the quality of the picture as well as the plot would be better put together. How long has Tyler been practicing to get it right. Extremely disappointed.

  • May 22, 2008 Sabrina Mathewson
    Report This User

    I have seen a few of Tyler's movies, and I loved a couple of them, but Meet the Browns was the worst movie I have ever seen. It just seemed so thrown together, and the attempt at comedy was so over the top. It was just embarrassing. As a single mother, I could relate to Angela's character because it is truly a struggle, and I appreciate seeing that struggle played out on screen, but everything else was just garbage.

  • May 22, 2008 mmoejohn
    Report This User

    The point about Tyler Perry's movies is that they are a sermon about the major problems within the African American community. He spends a lot of time trying to repair our male - female relationships. He wants us to trust god, forgive each other's mistakes in the past, and he wants women not to give up on their search for a good man. He also believes that there is a basic goodness and humanity within the black community. Another strong point of his movies is is that white folks are not blamed for the problems of his characters. These people solve their own problems. When a white guy came to the door near the end of the movie, I could not help thinking that he was going to take advantage of the family, but he turned out to be a good guy. It is easy to simplify his movies, but these are crucial issues within our community.

  • May 22, 2008 thickmixedthang
    Report This User

    I dont know about anyone else but when i go see a tyler perry movie im not expecting some complex grand scheming plot. I expect funny and this movie is just that, to a degree. There were some funny points to the movie, however it dragged at some points, but the ending, the credits were hilarious! Of course there was a theme of being able to overcome the impossible, love will previal, and God and family will help you through it(sound familiar). We've come to expect this from Mr. Perry, because this is what he's good at and this is what he delivers. Madea's small role in the movie was enough to have you laughing but wanting to see more of her, but i wouldnt be surprised if the next tyler perry movie was what happened after they arrested her that night. The latin chick was hella funny and every female knows they have an over the top friend just like her, Angela's son will have you in tears with his "im not going to leave you too" speech, Mr. Brown (the bald one) made the movie! overall i liked it and i can't wait for the DVD to come out so i can watch the outtakes again!P.S. Did anybody else notice troy, the policeman from why did i get married? and was it just me but did you find yourself referring to Angela Bassett as Ana Mae? ;P

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X