The Producers Guild of America announced on Tuesday its slate of nominees for the best films of 2015, and once again, this awards season is proving divisive, based on the eclectic mix of movies recognized by the guild -- and those that were surprisingly snubbed.

Unexpected honorees included "Ex Machina" and "Sicario," two films released earlier this year to critical acclaim, but which have been absent from most awards season chatter until now. Other populist fare represented on the PGA's nomination slate included the hit "Straight Outta Compton," as well as apocalyptic flick "Mad Max: Fury Road," which is proving itself a strong contender to muscle its way into a Best Picture Oscar nomination as it continues to snatch statuettes and nominations.

As with most awards, there were bound to be some glaring omissions, but the biggest one of all may be "Carol," which failed to earn one of the PGA's 10 Best Film slots, despite plenty of love from other awards shows and critics groups. As Variety notes, the last eight winners of the PGA's top prize have gone on to win the Best Picture Oscar, and up until now "Carol" had been seen as one of the biggest challengers to longtime frontrunner "Spotlight" (which did earn a nomination). After today, that may no longer be the case. Fellow critically-lauded flick "Room" was also left off the PGA's list, as was Quentin Tarantino's much-hyped "The Hateful Eight."

Winners will be announced at a ceremony on January 23. The full list of 2015 PGA film nominees is below.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

"The Big Short"

Producers: Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner

"Bridge of Spies"

Producers: Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt, Kristie Macosko Krieger


Producers: Finola Dwyer & Amanda Posey

"Ex Machina"

This film is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility

"Mad Max: Fury Road"

Producers: Doug Mitchell & George Miller

"The Martian"

Producers: Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer, Mark Huffam

"The Revenant"

Producers: Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent, Keith Redmon


Producers: Basil Iwanyk, Edward L. McDonnell, Molly Smith


Producers: Michael Sugar & Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, Blye Pagon Faust

"Straight Outta Compton"

Producers: Ice Cube & Matt Alvarez, F. Gary Gray, Dr. Dre, Scott Bernstein

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:


Producers: Rosa Tran, Duke Johnson, Charlie Kaufman

"The Good Dinosaur"

Producer: Denise Ream

"Inside Out"

Producer: Jonas Rivera


Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

"The Peanuts Movie"

Producers: Craig Schulz, Michael J. Travers

[via: Producers Guild of America, h/t Variety]