(L to R) Alana Haim and Cooper Hoffman in 'Licorice Pizza'

(L to R) Alana Haim and Cooper Hoffman in 'Licorice Pizza'

As awards season trundles onwards, today was the turn of the BAFTAs to announce their nominations. And the likes of Denis Villeneuve’s ‘Dune’, Jane Campion’s ‘The Power of the Dog’ and Kenneth Branagh’s ‘Belfast’ all scored well.

‘Dune’ in particular seemed to be a favourite of the British academy’s voters, with 11 nominations in total (though in keeping with its other awards season appearances, more for film, craft, and Villeneuve than in any of the acting categories.

Jane Campion’s ranch-set ‘The Power of the Dog, meanwhile, grabbed 8 nominations, and did show up in the acting section, with stars Benedict Cumberbatch, Kodi Smit-McPhee popping up on more lists and co-star Jesse Plemons also making an appearance.

On the performing front, Will Smith scored his first BAFTA nomination ever for ‘King Richard’, while ‘The Tragedy of Macbeth’s Denzel Washington didn’t make the cut (Joel Coen’s film, in fact, only appears in one category – for Bruno Delbonnel’s memorable cinematography).

Denzel Washington in 'The Tragedy of Macbeth'

Denzel Washington in 'The Tragedy of Macbeth'

There are other surprising omissions too – neither ‘The Lost Daughter’s Olivia Colman (a perennial BAFTA nominee) nor ‘Being the RicardosNicole Kidman made the Best Actress categories, while the biggest cold shoulder went to ‘Spencer’, which received nothing. It’s truly not a great sign for star Kristen Stewart’s Oscar chances, and perhaps represents some pushback from Brits against her portrayal of Princess Diana.

It's sad to see ‘Cyrano’ left out of acting consideration (though it is up for five trophies and reassuring to spot ‘Mass’ among the films nominated (even if it is just for Ann Dowd as a potential Best Supporting Actress).

As to whether BAFTA nominees tell us much about who might be up for Oscars? It’s harder to pinpoint, though historically around two-thirds of BAFTA nominees go on to scoop corresponding Academy Award nominations. And, of course, there is a focus on British filmmaking talent.

The BAFTA awards event will take place on Sunday, March 13 in London, at an event hosted by Rebel Wilson. Here is the full list of nominees:

Best Film

Don't Look Up
Licorice Pizza
The Power of the Dog

Outstanding British Film

After Love
Ali & Ava
Boiling Point
Everybody's Talking About Jamie
House of Gucci
Last Night in Soho
No Time to Die

Best Leading Actress

Lady Gaga – House of Gucci
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones – CODA
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person in the World
Joanna Scanlan – After Love
Tessa Thompson – Passing

Best Leading Actor

Adeel Akhtar – Ali & Ava
Mahershala Ali – Swan Song
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog
Leonardo DiCaprio – Don't Look Up
Stephen Graham – Boiling Point
Will Smith – King Richard

Best Supporting Actress

Caitríona Balfe – Belfast
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story
Ann Dowd – Mass
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Ruth Negga – Passing

Best Supporting Actor

Mike Faist – West Side Story
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Troy Kotsur – CODA
Woody Norman – C'mon C'mon
Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog

Best Director

Aleem Khan – After Love
Ryûsuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car
Audrey Diwan – Happening
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Julia Ducournau – Titane

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer

After Love – Aleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling Point – James Cummings (writer) and Hester Ruoff (producer)
The Harder They Fall – Jeymes Samuel (writer/director)
Keyboard Fantasies – Posy Dixon (writer/director) and Liv Proctor (producer)
Passing – Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Film Not In The English Language

Drive My Car
The Hand of God
Parallel Mothers
Petite Maman
The Worst Person in the World

Best Documentary

Becoming Cousteau
The Rescue
Summer of Soul (Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Best Animated Film

The Mitchells Vs. The Machines

Best Original Screenplay

Being the Ricardos – Aaron Sorkin
Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
Don't Look Up – Adam McKay
King Richard – Zach Baylin
Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson

Best Adapted Screenplay

CODA - Siân Heder
Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Dune - Denis Villeneuve
The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion

Best Original Score

Being the Ricardos – Daniel Pemberton
Don't Look Up – Nicholas Britell
Dune - Hans Zimmer
The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
The Power of the Dog – Johnny Greenwood

Best Cinematography

Dune – Greig Fraser
Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen
No Time to Die – Linus Sandgren
The Power of the Dog – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Costume Design

Cruella – Jenny Beavan
Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini
Dune – Robert Morgan & Jacqueline West
The French Dispatch – Milena Canonero
Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira

Best Editing

Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune – Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza – Andy Jurgensen
No Time to Die – Tom Cross, Elliot Graham
Summer Of Soul (Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Joshua L. Pearson

Best Production Design

Cyrano – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dune – Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos
The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo
Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side Story – Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

Best Makeup And Hair

Cruella – Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
Cyrano – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
Dune – Love Larson, Donal Mowat
The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh
House of Gucci – Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

Best Sound

Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett
Last Night in Soho – Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
No Time to Die – James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II – Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side Story – Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Best Special Visual Effects

Dune – Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer
Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix Resurrections – Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwaim
No Time to Die – Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

Best Casting

Boiling Point – Carolyn McLeod
Dune – Francine Maisler
The Hand of God – Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
West Side Story – Cindy Tolan

Best British Short Film

The Black Cop
The Palace
Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee

Best British Short Animation

Affairs of the Art
Do Not Feed the Pigeons
Night of the Living Dread

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
Lashana Lynch
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-McPhee

Tom Holland excepting the EE Rising Star award at the 2017 BAFTA Film Awards.

Tom Holland excepting the EE Rising Star award at the 2017 BAFTA Film Awards.