Alexander's Ragtime Band Poster

Release Date: June 8th, 2003

DVD Release Date: September 7th, 2004

Not Yet Rated|1 hr 45 min

Plot Summary
In 1910s San Francisco, concert violinist Roger Grant (Tyrone Power), also known as Alexander, abandons classical music to join a ragtime band with pianist Charlie Dwyer (Don Ameche) and singer Stella Kirby (Alice Faye). Alexander's switch dismays his high society family. As two decades pass and popular music transitions from ragtime to jazz, the ragtime band trio grows both stronger and weaker through love, breakups and war -- all along the rising and falling tide of their musical success.

Cast: Tyrone Power, Alice Faye, Don Ameche

Director: Henry King

Genres: Musical

Keywords: Quest, Love, 1930s, Rise, Friend, Sacrifice, New York City, Heartwarming, Amusing, Friendship