Skip to main content

reviews

17
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 40 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    I'm guessing it's the pressure of an idiot script by Gary Scott Thompson and understandably clueless direction from Jon Avnet that forces Pacino to ham it up so vigorously that you want to garnish him with cloves and a slice of pineapple. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    If you're like me and think that any Pacino movie is sort of worth seeing, so long as he never says, "Hoo-ha," then 88 Minutes won't be a total disappointment. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This may be the most preposterous movie of the year. It is certainly the most ridiculous movie starring an Oscar-winning actor. show more

  • 38
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    88 Minutes proves itself to be a maddeningly mediocre, ineptly manipulative "real-time" thriller. show more

  • NA
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    This slimy, slug-minded mystery thriller starts out dead on arrival and then, like three-day-old fish, gets really bad really fast. show more

  • 20
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    This ridiculous thriller would be hard-pressed to last much longer than its title in theaters before doing time on DVD, as is already the case in many overseas territories. show more

  • 25
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The preposterous 88 Minutes is a serial killer movie starring Al Pacino's festival of hair. show more

  • 25
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    This is easily one of the silliest, most preposterous thrillers ever made, and the only reason it didn't go straight to video has to be that it stars Pacino. show more

  • 25
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    A preposterous misfire. show more

  • 25
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    I've seen Pacino over the edge. This is not it. He looks pooped and pickled. Maybe being the only thing standing between a megaplex opening and a trip straight to the $4.99 bin at Target wiped him out. show more

  • December 12, 2009 jp7570
    Report This User

    The lousy producer of the revived "Knight Rider" (2008) also produced this stinker.

  • June 20, 2009 STEVESWEATSOX
    Report This User

    Should have been seriously considered for an Oscar !!! One of the greatest films of our time.

  • May 22, 2008 casandradawe
    Report This User

    I really thought this would be great - at least good - hopefully okay - ... I thought wrong! This had no suspense - it was not thrilling - trying to pull off the idea that everyone was in on it like Agatha Christy does just left me not caring at all who really did it. And what the hec was with Al Pacino (whom I usually love) and his hair - plus that was a nice tan he had during the school year in Seattle. I wouldn't even recommend waiting until dvd - wait until you want to punish yourself for being bad and watch it on network tv - if they even want to show it. I give it an 'F'

  • May 22, 2008 lgmg712
    Report This User

    I couldn't believe for a minute Pacino stared in this movie. He was totally miscast and too old for the part. His hair and beard were so fake looking. He is a much better actor than this role in the movie. I was sorry I wasted the money to see this picture. Better luck next time.

  • May 22, 2008 Bradley Media
    Report This User

    I would rather have slammed my hand in the car door than watch this pathetic movie. bjonesmedia, Santa Fe

  • May 22, 2008 JADERLUND
    Report This User

    this movie was way better than i thought it would be-- def go see it

  • May 22, 2008 quiet karen
    Report This User

    Ignore the negative reviews. This film is a pretty good suspense story. Al has to find out who is trying to kill him and how they are connected to a killer he helped put away years before. As a professor at a college Al suspects a lot of his students as possible suspects in whoever is taunting him. There is a constant nice pace to the film.. no dragging and boring parts. If you enjoy people racing against the clock to find the killer this movie is much better than all the negative reviews would lead you to believe.

  • May 22, 2008 natashapau
    Report This User

    I expected a really good, cool movie, but what I got was nightmares for life! Do not go see thins movie, the ending was horrific and gross. It was real torture.

  • May 22, 2008 johnfc jr
    Report This User

    Really not sure why this movie is getting such bad reviews from critics and movie-goers. It's not the best movie ever. But if you like a crime/thriller, then I think you'll enjoy. Yeh, some parts are a bit over the top...but that never seems to be a problem for, say, Bruce Willis fans! Go. Kick back. Enjoy. It's worth it.

  • May 22, 2008 italigal
    Report This User

    I love Al Pacino as much as anybody, but I hated this movie. I'm tired of seeing long, drawn out torture scenes (especially against women) in movies. The acting by supporting cast was horrible. The dialogue just made me laugh. And it was very formulistic to several recent movies Pacino has made where he essentially plays the same type of character in the same type of story. Al, give us more Scent of A Woman; Merchant of Venice; Donnie Brasco and Sea of Love. You are so much better than this.

`

similar movies

  • Phone Booth (2002)

  • Identity (2003)

  • Don't Say a Word (2001)

  • Red Eye (2005)

  • The Bone Collector (1999)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X