Skip to main content

reviews

Based on Reviews
fan reviews ( 19 )
  • January 29, 2012 mhaber8643
    Report This User

    I knew it had to come from a very good novel, and wasn\'t suprised that it was from Mordecia Richler, a name I have loved ever since \"The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz\"- the movie version, that is- as I can\'t say I ever read his books. But I felt this rich, at times, overdone, vein of \"Jewishkeit\" throughout the film, especially from Dustin Hoffman as the father (who seems to be specializing, in his golden years, at playing overtly Jewish characters, as in \"The Fockers\" movies, and here). Paul G. is a national treasure, enough said. And he can \"do Alzeimer\'s\" ljust like he can do John Adams, or a mobster, or anything: with characterisitc brilliance! But the movie felt like it must be a better novel, so I am going to read Richler, finally...! P.S. Very Canadian, very Montreal, very Leonard Cohen!!!

  • July 19, 2011 sallen2sonn
    Report This User

    Best movie since \" King\'s Speech.\"

  • July 13, 2011 doncaddy39
    Report This User

    At first I thought the characters in Barney\'s Version were all self-involved nincompoops, but then Barney fell in love for real. He had a wonderful marriage which changed him into a much better person. At the movie I was crying because I really felt compassion for all the characters especially Barney. Great acting is what makes the audience cry. Bravo!

  • March 18, 2011 swaldrup
    Report This User

    Wow! I HATED this movie. It's grossly misogynistic, unrealistic, and I had to spent 2 hours with a group of really hateful, rude people that I wouldn't want to have dinner with, much less watch their life stories. I don't have any idea why I should care about this drunken schlub who marries 2 absolutely ridiculous, awful women and then walks out on the second one on their wedding night to follow another woman. The fact that the woman he is walking out on is a rich, shallow bitch doesn't make it alright. He chose to marry her. Accept that responsibility at least for 24 hours. It seems like I'm supposed to care about him because he has a good relationship with his quirky father. Well, that's not really enough for me.

  • March 14, 2011 ncfrrst
    Report This User

    Great movie about lifes wins and losses. Has the feeling of drama epic in scope and emotional undertow. A kind of Terms Of Endearment feel to it but dissimiar story lines. The ending is real kleenex time for those who love to be moved emotionally. Great soundtrack too. A real winner!!!!!

  • March 09, 2011 DCH159
    Report This User

    Very enjoyable. Some really great lines in here.

  • March 07, 2011 MGAUSS77
    Report This User

    Great life movie. Great movie. A classic.

  • March 02, 2011 Scott404
    Report This User

    Five stars. Great story , great acting.

  • March 01, 2011 ktlovesmovies
    Report This User

    This is an excellent film for anyone who wants to laugh (like, belly laugh) then cry, and also have to think... it is a wonderful film that I would strongly recommend to my friends.

  • February 28, 2011 asarnel
    Report This User

    This movie was like a good book: I could not put it down! I, and the whole audience, was so into this movie, it kept me on the edge of my seat. There were more people at this show than I have seen in a long, long time. The story was brilliant and the ending was a tear jerker. The acting was amazing. THIS IS A "DON'T MISS" movie! I would have given it six stars!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X