Skip to main content

reviews

70
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 93 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The film is most riveting in its early scenes, when Soderbergh's digital cameras locate germs everywhere – don't touch those peanuts! show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A film for anyone who enjoys an intelligent thriller, but for illness phobes this movie is a special pleasure in that it presses all the right fear buttons even as it validates a very particular vision of reality. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    While potent and well-paced, Contagion doesn't come together as the fearsome bio-thriller it starts out to be. But it may make audiences twitchy about the guy coughing in the next row. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    By the time this globe-hopping, movie-star-crammed disaster saga - directed with petrifying efficiency by Steven Soderbergh - comes full circle, you'll never want to touch a subway pole or elevator button or ATM again. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    There's a sense of dread in Contagion, but it never spreads to us. When Day 1 is finally shown, it makes you want to eat better, which isn't the same as saying this is a great movie. show more

  • 70
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    The pressure cooker plot calls for intense performances all around but first among equals are Winslet and Ehle. show more

  • 85
    Movieline

    Contagion's restraint is marred by one element - Alan Krumwiede, the San Francisco-based activist blogger played by Jude Law, a conspiracy theorist who wields claims about uncovering the truth like a blunt instrument intended to menace. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    One aspect of the film is befuddling. Alan Krumwiede (Jude Law) is a popular blogger with conspiracy theories about the government's ties with drug companies. His concerns are ominous but unfocused. Does he think drug companies encourage viruses? The blogger subplot doesn't interact clearly with the main story lines and functions mostly as an alarming but vague distraction. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    He's the anti-Michael Bay, the un-Roland Emmerich. No fake-documentary "realism" here; Soderbergh values the silence before the storm, or a hushed two-person encounter in which one or both parties are concealing something. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Contagion may be the most expensive public-service ad ever filmed, but it's also a surprisingly light-on-its-feet action thriller. show more

  • January 18, 2012 gt00000000110806
    Report This User

    was all right - liked the music

  • January 03, 2012 tp00000000105204
    Report This User

    Absolute nonsens and a total waste of good actors, money, and MY TIME. If they wanted to scare people about germs and contagion they could\'ve saved their time and made a 3-5 min commercial to run on TV instead.

  • November 10, 2011 si00000000101923
    Report This User

    Steven Soderbergh film \'Contagion\' is a compelling disaster that shows the progress of a deadly virus wreaking havoc worldwide. It starts off with Gwyneth Paltrow catching the deadly lurgi in Hong Kong and then it spreading in her home town of Minneapolis on her return, leaving husband Matt Damon to pick up the pieces. There were lots of other big Stars from Laurence Fisburne to Jude Law and Kate *************** sort of like a documentary of how things progressed in the lives of different people and shows us how easily it could all happen. I was quick to look at the person in the next row who coughed and was conscious of how many times I touched my face during the show along with a quick trip to the bathroom to wash my hands afterwards. All in all a movie worth seeing.

  • November 06, 2011 Wazzzup?
    Report This User

    Pretty lame....waste of money....poorly done! More a lame attempt at a documentary than a movie!

  • October 29, 2011 yx00000000104397
    Report This User

    This was not at all what I expected. I went to to action and rising conflict to a solution. Instead, I watched characters discuss events and solutions.

  • October 21, 2011 jmedeiros62
    Report This User

    I think people are expecting more of a horror film - like Quarantine maybe. Not like that at all. More of a spin on a \"disaster\" film. As a healthcare professional I can say it\'s true to the core given some liberties of film making. Good overall movie - a nice change from totally mindless nonsense.

  • October 13, 2011 THE FINAL CUT
    Report This User

    I didnt yet see this movie-I am going tonight though I went here to check out some of the reviews first and I get a mix. It seems you either really like it or you dont ,so with the way I figure it out is if you like these types of movies you will enjoy it then again if you are not into this stuff then stay home. One thing I will say is something like this virus can actually save the planet ...there are just way too many people on this Earth and it will just get worse. I belive for our Planet to survive our numbers need to be reduced extremely .I am not crazy nor a radical just realistic in what I see coming.

  • October 11, 2011 Madam President
    Report This User

    Well done and well researched. Great argument for food storage! I\'m so much more aware of touching my face 2000-3000 times a day now!

  • October 09, 2011 Kate
    Report This User

    Thought it was great. Makes you think twice about shaking someones hand especially since cold and flu season is right around the corner. Like I tell my kids, \'Wash your hands!\'

  • October 09, 2011 ecw1952
    Report This User

    BEWARE BEFORE YOU SPEND YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY...READ VIEWERS COMMENTS! Picked Contagion from all others only to be disappointed to say least! Star line up was only attraction...can\'t believe anyone would give this brownie points...shame on all the stars who accepted their role.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X