Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 45 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    This lame-ass chick-flick sampling of "Crazy Heart" is more like country Kryptonite. show more

  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    A tough slog through emotional swamplands. It's murky when it needs to be clear. But Hedlund is the big news here. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Country Strong feels powerfully familiar. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Country Strong comes to spontaneous life from time to time, despite maudlin devices and manipulative set pieces. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The glaring weakness of Country Strong is James, underwritten and ambiguous, more like Kelly's pimp than her manager. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    What saves Country Strong from drowning in its own tears are the leads, all four of whom imbue Feste's unabashedly clichéd script with some genuine humanity. show more

  • 30
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Feste, who has one previous effort as a writer-director, last year's "The Greatest," fails here to do the most basic thing -- give an audience a rooting interest, or any interest at all, in these four troubled people. show more

  • 75
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Country Strong rides pretty high in the saddle, confident in the remarkably realized world Feste has created for her characters. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Country Strong is a throwback, a pure, heartfelt exercise in '50s social melodrama. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    My God is this script predictable. Each relapse and betrayal shows up announced, and then announced again, a little louder, by the dialogue equivalent of an aggravating doorman. show more

  • November 20, 2012 inezboschert
    Report This User

    I can really relate to this movie.

  • August 15, 2012 Karen
    Report This User

    This is the best movie ever I have seen it at least 20 times and I will see it again 20 more times.

  • December 27, 2011 to00000000109386
    Report This User

    I agree with other posts...I originally watched the movie and it didn\'t exactly excite me..Since then, I have watched it a few more times and it really has plenty to offer to the movie viewer. The music is fantastic and when you read about the history of how this was made and who was responsible for the songs, it just makes it more interesting. I must admit that the final concert was a winner by me, Paltrow looked oh so good in her black tight dress and boots....\"if you got it, flaunt it\"...worked for me!! If you didn\'t like it the first time, watch it at least 3 x and you will be hooked...they have the full version of these songs online on you tube.

  • December 11, 2011 Ree
    Report This User

    The first time I heard the song Country Strong, I DVR\'d it and I have listened to it several dozen times since - I just recentlywatched the movie twice in a row and will be watching it again - IT IS FANTASTIC and I must say, Garrett Hedlund is one fine young man/actor with a voice, a smile and the most gorgeous eyes one could have....Of course Tim McGraw and Gwyneth Paltrow were excellent but Garrett blew everyone away.....

  • November 29, 2011 Beanissimo
    Report This User

    I also watched the movie 4 times in a row for the satisfaction of watching the actor interactions and hear the music. Gwyneth and Tim\'s parts show how critical it is to be loved and not used as a meal ticket. It hurt everytime Gwyneth went for her husband and he pushed her away. \"Beau\'s\" character was so strong and sexy without stealing the show. He has a wonderful voice and a great stage presence. The other female lead was a great contrast to Gwyneth\'s very emotional ill portrayal of a very popular singer. Wish Beau and his counterpart would have sung more of \"Give In To Me.\" What a pretty tune.

  • October 22, 2011 Arlene
    Report This User

    Country Strong is one of the best movies I have ever seen! When I rented it I actuallly saw it 4 times in a row. There iwas incredible chemiistry between the 4 lead roles. The acting was very believeable. I also fell in love with Garrett Hedllund. Each one of these talents showed such genuine feelings and showed a lot of vulnerability. I just got lost in the movie. I think each of us can relate on some llevel to the ups and downs thiese people went through as life goes on. I LOVE THIS MOVIE! I

  • May 21, 2011 kk00000000091273
    Report This User

    This is a wonderful movie, Paltrow was amazing! I don\'t know the other stars but I would love to know more about them! Gweneth has the voice of an angel, I want this sound track!

  • April 28, 2011 bmoor9567
    Report This User

    Absolutely weak and poorly acted. A waste of tape.

  • April 26, 2011 bevottemann
    Report This User

    Although the story was interesting, they lost me when someone (Fiath, whoever) let Tim wear that pitiful looking wig. Really, really has anyone ever been surprised that Tim is sensitive about his hair loss and wears wigs in his movies? Tim, we feel for you, too, really buddy, but have a hair transplant. You can certainly afford it. It will be all good. And please don\'t listen to anyone else about how good the wigs looik, they don\'t want to hurt your feelings, most especially Faiith. She loves you, man. . . .

  • April 25, 2011 sm00000000088772
    Report This User

    I thought the plot was very good..and unexpectedly unpredictable. Gweneth Paltrow was great and so was Tim McGraw. I doubted that the artists were really singing until I looked it up. I am VERY impressed...even more than before. Great movie!

`

similar movies

  • Walk the Line (2005)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Ida (2013)

  • Sweet Dreams (1985)

  • The Thing Called Love (1993)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X