Skip to main content

reviews

80
Based on 28 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 20 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Eating can be one dangerous business. Don't take another bite till you see Robert Kenner's Food, Inc., an essential, indelible documentary that is scarier than anything in the last five Saw horror shows. show more

  • 100
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A mind-boggling, heart-rending, stomach-churning expose on the food industry. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's not a pretty picture. But Food, Inc. is an essential one. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Though slickly packaged, Robert Kenner's unsparing exposé is harder to watch than any horror film. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    No question, watching this film is a tough go. Horror films cause less seat-squirming. show more

  • 100
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    A scary movie that's also funny, touching and good for you. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I figured it wasn't important for me to go into detail about the photography and the editing. I just wanted to scare the bejesus out of you, which is what Food, Inc. did to me. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    If Wal-Mart, the Lucifer of multinational corporations in many liberal eyes, sees the fiscal sense in stocking an increasingly wide array of organic foodstuffs, consumer habits truly are changing. Not fast enough, though, for documentary filmmaker Robert Kenner. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Food, Inc. argues that part of the reason why the food industry is so difficult to regulate is that many of the government officials currently assigned to watchdog roles were once employed by the companies they now keep tabs on. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The whole thing is as subtle as a watermelon in a bowl of Cheerios but necessary, nonetheless. show more

  • February 08, 2012 sarayassin
    Report This User

    Everybody ********** this movie and realize you truly are what you eat. BUY LOCAL AND ORGANIC. Get big business out of our food.

  • May 01, 2011 PETE
    Report This User

    What is it gonna take for Americans to wake up and make a \"CHANGE\" starting with this totally corupt government. They continue to find ways to take away social needs all the while they spend \"TRILLIONS\" on wars with no end guarantee. Lets face it Government has out grown itself. This movie hilights a meer portion of the real conditions of this Country.

  • March 09, 2011 hrccoffice
    Report This User

    I hesitated a moment with 5 stars, only because a few scenes gave me some sleepness nights, but these scenes and the honesty of them cannot be ignored. If you want to live in lala land, don'*******. If you want to prolong the lives of your loved ones and your own...if you want to live in a country that does not put greed and profit above human decency and fairness to all living creatures, please watch this and be courageous! I will never again buy meat from a grocery store. I will eat less meat, but it will be organic...I will eat more vegatables they will be organic to the extent I can afford them, and buy them at farmer's markets, and use my 1/3 acre lot to begin to grow veggies for my family. The movie had a profound effect on us all, especially my husband who is from Ireland and he couldn't believe we have come to this point as a country. The animals in Ireland are raised humanely and they produce delicious miilk, butter, eggs, and meat. Garbage in, garbage out. We are what we eat, and now I see why so many are so sick. Don't be afraid to be informed! Then take action and be proud of yourself!

  • June 08, 2010 iseesmith
    Report This User

    I wish everyone could see this. It totally makes sense of it all. Why "we" are obese, have diabetes like no other time in history, and so much food borne illness! I cook for a childcare center and have been trying to serve only food that is free from artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives--high fructose corn syrup too. This film has given me the inspiration to press on! I would like my supervisors to see this so they will not bug me too much about food cost. The benefits outweigh any extra costs associated with eating healthier food and the kids like my homemade graham crackers better than any boxed ones! I lLOVE the organic farmer in this movie. I wish his farm was near me. I like how he honors the "pigness of the pigs"! The whole concept they talked about how "you vote every time an item is slid across the scanner" that really gives me hope that as consumers we have the power to influence the industry by the choices we make at the store. The fact that Walmart took RBST out of thier dairy can tell you that much. Make good choices at the supermarket and we can change things. I will definitely NEVER buy another meat product from the grocery (or should I say grossery) store. (unless it is grass fed, organic)

  • April 22, 2010 Mary & Bill
    Report This User

    Cruel factory farming of animals must stop. Hell on earth for the poor animals......and then we kill and eat them....give these beings some type of life before we end it.

  • April 22, 2010 Brenda
    Report This User

    Everyone need to see this film

  • April 03, 2010 purplegt
    Report This User

    This was the best consumer based movie I have ever seen. It makes a person ANGRY that these things are happening to this country - it's all about big business and money. What Monsanto is doing to the soybean farmer is WRONG and it needs to be stopped. What is being done to us as a consumer with tainted beef, chickens, is gross! I will definitely become more conscious of what I am buying and what it contains. Everyone in this country needs to see this movie and FIGHT BACK. And we wonder why the health of this country has become what it is, it is what we are eating!!!!! See it, you won't be sorry.

  • March 14, 2010 DeLoris
    Report This User

    I watched this movie yesterday on the advice of my daughter. It moved me to action and I hope it does you too! Granted, people will say it is skewed toward the side of the consumer and puts big business in a bad light. Truth is Type II Diabetes is growing rapidly in this country, so something is wrong with "US"! Please go to my blog and check out my post on this subject: http://delspspemporium.blogspot.com/. Big Business can't get away with anything if we don't let them! They have no power; we do! Don't sit on your butt and expect the government to help you. Help yourself and your children! "OUR" government is "US"! Don't like what's going on? VOTE! BUY DIFFERENT FOOD!

  • March 09, 2010 VIP South Beach
    Report This User

    To the guy that said theres no truth in it, you are full of crap. Stop trying to protect the scum bag companies you work for. This movies is very truthful and I am a vegan becuase of watching this movie and realizing the lies that companies and goverment tell the people. Becuase we all know the big buss tells the goverment what to say and do....

  • January 03, 2010 Rick
    Report This User

    Well it was entertaining but not much truth in it. The fact is that Americas food supply, albeit Big Business is really quite safe and healthy, Watch it for the entertainmenmt but dont believe it. I know, I have been involved with the industry for years.

`

similar movies

  • The Elephant in the Living Room (2010)

  • An Inconvenient Truth (2006)

  • Forks Over Knives (2011)

  • The Island President (2011)

  • FrackNation (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X