Skip to main content

reviews

80
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 23 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Director Ron Howard has turned Peter Morgan's stage success into a grabber of a movie laced with tension, stinging wit and potent human drama. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Morgan finds the right elements of action and character through which to make history leap off the page. show more

  • 100
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's hard to imagine how a film built around one-on-one interviews could be entertaining, but Frost/Nixon could not be more enthralling. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    What Ron Howard gets, to a degree that's astonishing in a two-hour film, is the density and complexity, as well as the generous entertainment quotient, of Peter Morgan's screenplay. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Frost/Nixon is not the epic gladiatorial face-off, the ricocheting verbal shoot-out that writer Morgan and filmmaker Howard imagined. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Less a political movie than a boxing film without the gloves. show more

  • 80
    Bob Mondello NPR

    A case is being made here that it wasn't really Frost who did Nixon in: It was Nixon's old nemesis, the TV camera. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Frank Langella and Michael Sheen do not attempt to mimic their characters, but to embody them. show more

  • 100
    TV Guide

    The craftsmanship, acting, and history lesson all make it among the most satisfying films of Ron Howard's career. show more

  • 100
    Premiere

    A totally mesmerizing battle of the wills between the occasionally charming yet wily Nixon and the increasingly desperate Frost. show more

  • August 12, 2009 ferniedog2u
    Report This User

    Definately one of my new favorite films and the solid performance by Frank Langella says it all. Going from Dracula to Nixon is quite a long hard career and this performance in my opinion topped all his other works. The movie was engaging and interesting. Not everyone can take an interest in political science like Frost/Nixon but for those who can this is one not to be missed...

  • April 26, 2009 GETGEBBER
    Report This User

    Somebody needs to award Michael Sheen w/an Oscar nom one of these days. He was great as Tony Blair in The Queen and now again as David Frost in Frost/Nixon. He seems to be expert at playing the suave smart Brit who gets out of jams.

  • February 21, 2009 imakeunuts
    Report This User

    While Frank Langella was excellent & definitely Oscar worthy, I found this informative & interesting but very slow. I understand that it was not possible to cut from it as it was all pertinent information to the story line, but my husband slept most of the way thru it & I found my mind & eyes wandering all over the theater. While I see the attraction to this film & understand the hype for Oscar, Slumdog was 200% better than this was & definitely deserves the Oscar over Frost/Nixon

  • February 19, 2009 DEANNE
    Report This User

    Absolutely Loved this movie, actually gave me goose bumps at one point. I have seen All the top movies lately and this is my favorite.

  • February 16, 2009 queenybea
    Report This User

    Fantastic flick. Acting on the part of Langella is oscar worthy. I expected more of a documentary but was hooked from the start and captivated until the dramatic ending. Bravo.

  • February 07, 2009 CelticAngel607
    Report This User

    Great movie, much more enthralling than you might expect. Great performances all around, especially from Frank Langella. Nixon's a hard character to play without succumbing to caricature, but he was realistic and convincing throughout, almost hauntingly so. This movie shows that you don't need a lot of special effects or anything like that to stay interesting. Sometimes really good acting is all it takes.

  • January 28, 2009 LANCEC75
    Report This User

    An abolutely incredible movie and acting by the Main Characters! (Much better, than the wrestler and Mickey Rourkes Performance)

  • January 24, 2009 thess12347
    Report This User

    Excellent performance by all major characters. Would like to see an recent interview of Frost to see what is true and what was made up for movie.

  • January 24, 2009 Maryelexus
    Report This User

    A true Masterpiece. Frank Langella must have lost his soul by bringing us Nixon. His acting is unbelieveable--it brought forth unexpected tears. The end will touch you like no other. Overall, there maybe a better understanding that our presidents are merely men who make decisions from their heart, from their head, from their point of view.

  • January 04, 2009 moviefan452
    Report This User

    Frost/Nixon would be a wonderful film which I would enthusiastically give my highest rating if it weren’t for one flaw. It contains a deception at its core. That aside it is a very captivating story about Nixon’s first interview after resigning from the Presidency. Director Ron Howard saw Peter Morgan’s stage play by the same name and decided to bring it to the big screen. Read my full review at johnhuntspace.com/reviews.html

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X