Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 28 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 18 )
  • 25
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    As weird as it sounds. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A ceramic gnome by any other name is still a kitschy little figure. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This lively little film, a comic take on Shakespeare's tragedy, is really entertaining. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's a sorry spectacle, watching garden gnomes being robbed of their dignity. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    This is perhaps for Shakespeare completists only. show more

  • 50
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    The movie comes up short on inspiration despite a stellar voice cast that includes James McAvoy and Emily Blunt and a toe-tapping songbook by Elton John and Bernie Taupin. show more

  • 40
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    What a dud of a story! You know what it needs to dress it up? Garden gnomes. show more

  • 65
    Bob Mondello NPR

    Theatrically inclined parents will also appreciate a passing reference to the Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Moving Co. show more

  • 75
    Washington Post

    Any film that dares to cast the bat-chewing heavy-metal legend as a gentle, ceramic reindeer named Fawn is okay in my Bard book. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    It has its own bizarre charms and a breezy confidence that renders it the very definition of a simple pleasure. show more

  • June 06, 2011 vb00000000089534
    Report This User

    nice movie :D

  • May 24, 2011 maritza.miranda
    Report This User

    its awsome

  • March 13, 2011 Eshufford
    Report This User

    I took my daughter to see this movie and she loved it, that's all that matters to me. But all in all I thought it was pretty cute and funny

  • March 08, 2011 theREDDOG1965
    Report This User

    Was thankful for one thing about this theater outing. Thank you to the lady who didn't mind my snoring and was curtious enough to wake me when it was over. To me this movie was like watching real gnomes in the garden.

  • March 05, 2011 sgcarns
    Report This User

    great movie to take the kids to see! They loved it but I thought it was a little boring. Overall a cute movie

  • February 28, 2011 ryno9400
    Report This User

    How is it the bloody same old story? dont know many animated movies with gnomes acting out Romeo and juliet. I thought it was brilliant how they took red and blue gnomes to show one of the greatest plays of all time.

  • February 28, 2011 dethen31
    Report This User

    pretty good movie. i thought it was pretty funny.

  • February 26, 2011 msc63546
    Report This User

    allway's the same old story, but funny

  • February 26, 2011 legimpresn
    Report This User

    This movie has many funny bits, but they don't add up to an overall good movie. It was boring in parts. It was odd, because it had a great concept, the animation was excellent, but I think it was trying way to hard to be "Shrek". It also had many un-funny or just plain odd bits. Like the Elton John bits? Is this just too british? Or just too much Elton John? (And I like both). Bottom-line -- don't see it in the theatre, definitely a rental. Its probably fine for little kids. We live in LA and went on a Sat night - there was 5 people in the theatre, counting us.

  • February 22, 2011 hswift111
    Report This User

    I loved this movie, filled with creative ways to make gnomes intersting and funny.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X