Skip to main content

reviews

76
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    See this darkly comic character study unburdened by preconceptions. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Jennifer Jason Leigh (Baumbach's wife) appears in two scenes, as an ex-girlfriend of Greenberg, and she's quietly brilliant, as always. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Powerfully honest, insightful and poignant. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The wonder of the film is how good it makes us feel. Greenberg scintillates with intelligence, razor's-edge humor and austere empathy for its struggling lovers. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Greenberg, with Stiller's sad and self-mocking portrait at its core, is well worth getting to know. show more

  • 70
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The movie may wear its shagginess on its sleeve, but Stiller knows exactly what he’s doing. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    While winning no points for originality, Baumbach and his co-conspirator in the script, Jennifer Jason Leigh -- have created an all-too-convincing portrait of a 40-year-old man in emotional freefall. show more

  • 90
    Ella Taylor NPR

    Greenberg is on every level the work of a more mature filmmaker, and quite possibly a happier man. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Extraordinary. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I have a weakness for actresses like Greta Gerwig. She looks reasonable and approachable. show more

  • April 28, 2011 precose
    Report This User

    Ben stiller should find a new line of work

  • August 20, 2010 RobRainbow
    Report This User

    omg awful, movie went nowhere boring, avoid it yuck

  • July 14, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    A story of a middle-aged misfit whose critical attitudes and self-centered orientation has predictable results in causing him relationship problems and chronic disgruntlement. He meets a young vulnerable and floundering girl looking for some direction in her life - herself a potential misfit. The movie ends before the future disaster of their relationship unfolds, sparing the viewer more pointless drama. The movie is pointless and boring.

  • July 13, 2010 HurahKane
    Report This User

    This was the worst movie that I have ever seen, Literally! I usually check moviefone's website for reviews before I rent or purchase a movie. I noticed users and critics gave this 4 stars and I happen to like Ben Stiller so... Anyways I have never been so confused, bored and angry at the movie. Do not waste your money..

  • May 16, 2010 alantherapy4u
    Report This User

    well, despite what others are saying about the movie, i really enjoyed it...while it does seem to go nowhere fast, the dialouge is very real, something i think these other people can't understand...at the end, i wondered why, but i had a big smile on my face...

  • May 02, 2010 Big Ruby
    Report This User

    Greenberg was the most awful, boring, stupid movie I have ever seen. There are endless inane conversations about nothing, there is no drama or suspense of any kind, except that of praying for the movie to be over so that you can go home. There is clumsy sex, idiotic side stories that lead nowhere, characters who come and go for no particular reason with no roles in the narrative. I would be embarrassed to have my name connected with this pathetic film.

  • April 27, 2010 DBogart892
    Report This User

    I can imagine the pitch for this movie - "OK, Ok, this movie will be like Woody Allen and Larry David getting together and making a movie with all the neurotic and pathological behavior, but without any humor - none at all!!" You can rate a movie by how many times you look at your watch - this one was a 4 - not good

  • April 25, 2010 elaine7937
    Report This User

    Totally AWFUL. If there is an award for the worst movie ever, this movie is the winner. What an insult to Ben Stiller's fans. I'll never go to anything he does again. What is with the critics that liked this? Maybe someone was paid off or on something. I'm sorry that my friends and I wasted money and a Sunday afternoon. Shame on Hollywood.

  • April 25, 2010 ghw248
    Report This User

    I always enjoy Ben Stiller but no this time. Wasted my time :(

  • April 24, 2010 Sunbear7
    Report This User

    A genuine DUD. The critics raved, the audience was bored stiff. No conflict, no plot, no character development (except maybe a too long delayed appreciation of a caring relationship by the Stiller character), cliched stereotypes of Hollywood types, gratuitous sex , can you believe a film which made sex appear boring ? BORING. No important theme or issue ... a waste of two valuable hours of your life. Think of all the better uses to which the cost of this production could have been applied. Shame on Stiller for chosing this vapid vehicle. Nice acting by the actress depicting the adolescent insecure female - a challenge met.

`

similar movies

  • Up in the Air (2009)

  • Garden State (2004)

  • Me and You and Everyone We Know (2005)

  • Sideways (2004)

  • Broken Flowers (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X