Skip to main content

reviews

46
Based on 21 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 39 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Basically torture porn. show more

  • 25
    USA Today

    The filmmakers behind the "Saw" franchise must love to see a movie like Hostel: Part II. Compared to this Eli Roth fetish video, the "Saw" films are Oscar bait. show more

  • 75
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    While the sequel isn't as unrelentingly gory as the original, there are still rivers of blood. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Roth has managed the rare feat of actually improving on the original. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Given its premise, it's hard for any Hostel sequel to be little more than a rehash. show more

  • 63
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    May not be your idea of a fun European vacation, but Roth's trip offers horror fans more than the usual sick kicks. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    A suspenseless rehash. show more

  • 38
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The problem with Hostel Part II is the same flaw that afflicted Hostel: no tension. show more

  • 25
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The moviemaking is driven only by contempt; he (Roth) wants to nauseate us into submission. show more

  • 25
    Aaron Hillis Premiere

    Fails in what amounts to its only distinct purpose: to smugly push the envelope of depravity farther than anyone else. show more

  • December 13, 2009 Ms loralilee
    Report This User

    The film kind of reminds me of, "The Hunting Party" with Richard Gere. I personally liked the movie but, take into account that I did not see the first one. I have noticed that those that saw the first one did not like this sequel. Having said that, I usually don't like gory films. As for Horror fans----this movie is not scary, however, it is a good film. For those who think this type of movie should not be made, I totally disagree with u and I am very conservative and moralistic. It does have a moral point to the movie----be careful with who you go out with. You could end up like one of these girls. I definately took note and will be more careful. You hear of girls being kidnapped and used as sex slaves and after watching this film, yes, it could happen. I had to turn my eyes away at one scene but, I loved the film. It had a good ending. Thank You Roth for the film. Good job!

  • May 22, 2008 horrorfan217
    Report This User

    the movie wasn't scary to me because i'm a hardcore horror movie fan i've seen a lot of horror movies like 30 days of night good horror stuff more heads being moved from bodies if u don't like hostel then don't waste money on it and just rent and watch 30 days of night there is one line that is funny but i can't tell u what is the funniest line in the movie

  • May 22, 2008 Marseyannie
    Report This User

    I really liked the first Hostel and since Eli Roth wrote and directed Part II I expected to like it too. Hostel Part II made me sick. Too much focus on torture. I have to admit that I did think it had a fitting conclusion but that couldn't compensate for the gore. I am a big fan of horror films and a good horror movie doesn't rely on gore alone.

  • May 22, 2008 futbolista122
    Report This User

    i love this album

  • May 22, 2008 RedBaronNSnoopy2
    Report This User

    Hard to top Hostel, so I wasnt expecting too much from Part II, but it was worse than I thought. Lame plot, boring, while the last 15 minutes is gore combined with stupidity. Wait for PPV or DVD if you must see it. Not worth the money or the time.

  • May 22, 2008 zombiechic1972
    Report This User

    I don't care what anyone says, this movie was great!!!! I have been an avid Horror fan since I was a little kid. I love them all and have quite a collection of them. I think Eli Roth is a great Producer/Director and seeing him teamed up with Quentin Tarantino is awesome. First off, if you saw the first one and didn't like it, then why would you go see the second. Second, knowing that the first one was full of gore and torture, then you should know that the second one was going to top the first even more. And if you think that the youth of today are using these movies as an excuse to do bad things in this world then maybe you need a reality check and start by blaming the parents who are not paying attention what kids are watching and doing nowadays. I have a 5 year daughter and would never in a million years allow her to watch any of my movies. I hope he comes out with a third!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 kwammiller
    Report This User

    I am about to write to more important people in this Country with remarks about you movie producers and actors. No wonder there are so many murders in our society today. What ever happened to "clean-cut" movies? No wonder why children of "today" are so disrespectful and violent! Any actor who would stoop that low to get a part in a movie like this one needs to take a good, hard look at themselves. It's a shameful movie! What a sad message being sent out to the youth of today. Get a life! Make life worth living! Clean up your act! What must the parents of those 3 young girls think of their "actor" daughters? It's a crime they have to stoop that low. The rating I'd give this movie is the lowest a movie can get.

  • May 22, 2008 mustangebball23
    Report This User

    soooooooo borning till like the last 15mins of the movie then it starts getting good and gory. and there will prolaby be a 3rd one bc of the endingand there is one good part in the middle of the movie

  • May 22, 2008 heyitsonlymee
    Report This User

    This was a disturbing movie, people bidding on people and having the pleasure to torture and kill their victims for a price to satisfy their fantasy. Sick movie! Hope this movie doesn't send out any wrong messages to the real life psychos or real life serial killers out there.

  • May 22, 2008 munecaboniita
    Report This User

    what happens to jay hernandez iin thiis moviie??

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X